Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
amonje
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Antonio Monje

Recommend configuration for backing up CSV on MSA2324sa

Post by amonje »

Hi everybody,

I am new to Veeam and the forum.
I've been using Veeam B&R to backup a 2 node Hyper-V cluster (W2k8 R2) with 2 CSVs on a SAS attached MSA2324 for a couple of months.
I am using the HP VSS hardware provider, and everything works fine. Backups finish without errors and I can see on the MSA that snapshots are created and deleted before and after the backup of each VM.
However, I believe this stresses the MSA, and after a few weeks, it crashes badly. I have a case open with HP, and they are looking into the issue.
In the meantime, what would be your recommendation?
Just using the Microsoft SW provider to take the snapshots?
I upgraded from v6.5 to 7.0, so parallel processing is disabled. I guess activating it would stress even more the MSA, isn't it?
Would be any way to configure the backup jobs in a way that only 1 volume snapshot were created for all VMs in the job (providing that all VMs reside in the same volume ?
Thanks in advance,
Antonio
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Recommend configuration for backing up CSV on MSA2324sa

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Antonio,

1. Using hardware VSS provider is still a preferable option. See our online help center for complete list of differences.
2. Enabling parallel processing will reduce the backup window time, so the snapshot will be removed much quicker. BTW, what kind of errors do you have on the MSA when it crashes? Are you using the latest version of the hardware provider?
3. I don't think that it is possible, since Hyper-V itself creates multiple snapshots for VMs during backup operation.

Thank you!
amonje
Novice

Post by amonje »

Hello Vitaliy,

I will test enabling parallel processing then...