PowerShell script exchange
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Start-VBRZip in Veeam Backup Free Edition

Post by veremin »

It's not older or something, it's just different - full self-contained VM backup (created by VeeamZIP) has never been designed with disk exclusion feature in my mind. Thanks!
mkaec
Veteran
Liked: 133 times
Full Name: Marc K

Post by mkaec »

It is older as far as being a free option available pre-9.5U4.
emcclure
Influencer
Liked: never

[MERGED] Backup VM's one at a time from a csv list

Post by emcclure »

Hello,

I'm very new to this and think I have it figured out, but I'm still learning PowerShell, so I'm not 100% sure yet. I need to backup VM's from a specific set of folders in a vCenter. I have a script that can run in PowerCLI that will give the info in a csv format which is fine. However I need to back those VM's up but one at a time. I have other scripts that do this, but I've manually entered those in a script as they'll never change. For this particular one though the VM's can change whenever, so I'll have to make this a scheduled task as well to run every so often to make sure the list is current before running the backup. For the backup script I have this:

Code: Select all

Add-PSSnapin veeampssnapin
 $job = "VMware - Interop-VC01"
 $backup = Import-csv c:\BackupScript\VMstoBackup -header Name
 Add-VBRViJobObject -job $job -Entities (Find-VBRViEntity -name $backup.vm)
Which I found here: https://vmcharlie.wordpress.com/2015/06 ... -csv-file/

However I need to back it up one at a time. So I copied this from the other script where it does that:

Asnp VeeamPSSnapin

$mbody = @()
    $VMName = ""

foreach ($VMName in $VMNames)
    {

$VM = Find-VBRViEntity -Name $VMName
    $ZIPSession = Start-VBRZip -Entity $VM -Folder $Directory -Compression $CompressionLevel -DisableQuiesce:(!$EnableQuiescence) -AutoDelete $Retention

If ($EnableNotification)
    {