Hi Ian, I too are sorry for the slow response, I'll setup a small lab and see if I can reproduce the error and get back to youIan Cook wrote:Hi Thomas, really sorry for the slow responses, been busy on another project.
Yes
Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1
Veeam V6 HF3
SQL Express 2008 Local DB
Thanks
Ian
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Tested it on 2005 and 2008(OS Win2008) both working as expected Ian
2005
2008
2005
Code: Select all
StatisticsEnabled : False
ConnectionString : Server=COOR01\VEEAM;Database=VeeamBackup;Integrated Security=SSPI;
ConnectionTimeout : 15
Database : VeeamBackup
DataSource : COOR01\VEEAM
PacketSize : 8000
ServerVersion : 09.00.5000
WorkstationId : COOR01
FireInfoMessageEventOnUserErrors : False
State : Open
Site :
Container :
Code: Select all
StatisticsEnabled : False
ConnectionString : Server=COOR01\SQLExpress;Database=VeeamBackup;Integrated Security=SSPI;
ConnectionTimeout : 15
Database : VeeamBackup
DataSource : COOR01\SQLExpress
PacketSize : 8000
ServerVersion : 10.00.1600
WorkstationId : COOR01
FireInfoMessageEventOnUserErrors : False
State : Open
Site :
Container :
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 04, 2011 11:05 am
- Full Name: Gan Tien Chor
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
i having the same error msg . my Veeam B & R is win2k8 R2 SP1 with latest patches, SQL2005 Express Bundle with Veeam( Default setting) , Enabled TCP/IP & Names Pipes Protocol At SQL Server configuration Manger. My custom scripts as below , even i change server name to ip address also same result. Please help. TQVMIan Cook wrote:Hi Thomas, sorry for the slow reply, been a bit busy this week.
Ran the updated script, and this is the outputI have already been through the settings to allow remote connections, as its SQL Express 2008Code: Select all
"Error: Exception calling "Open" with "0" argument(s): "A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 25 - Connection string is not valid)
Thankis again for the assistance
Ian
asnp "VeeamPSSnapIn" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
$VCVMName = "vcenter"
$serverName = "$env:VMSVEEAM10\VEEAM"
$databaseName = "VeeamBackup"
$vc = Find-VBRViEntity -Name $VCVMName | ?{$_.Reference -notlike "vm-*"}
$conn = New-Object System.Data.SQLClient.SQLConnection
$conn.ConnectionString = "Server=$serverName;Database=$databaseName;Integrated Security=SSPI;"
$cmd = New-Object System.Data.SQLClient.SQLCommand
$cmd.Connection = $conn
$cmd.CommandText = "UPDATE [BObjects] set host_id = '$($vc.ConnHost.Id)',
object_id = '$($vc.Reference)',
path = '$($vc.Path)' WHERE object_name = '$VCVMName' AND object_id NOT LIKE 'vm%'"
try
{
$conn.Open()
}
catch
{
"Error: $_"
break
}
try
{
$cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() | Out-Null
}
catch
{
Write-Warning "Update failed"
}
finally
{
$conn.Close()
}
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
I have updated the comments on my site, the issues is with the server name part
$env:COMPUTERNAME is a environment variable in PS that will get the local computer name and normally you wouldn't have to change it.
Code: Select all
$serverName = "$env:VMSVEEAM10\VEEAM"
Code: Select all
#acceptable values
$serverName = "$env:COMPUTERNAME\VEEAM"
#or
$serverName = "VMSVEEAM10\VEEAM"
#but not
$serverName = "$env:VMSVEEAM10\VEEAM"
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 04, 2011 11:05 am
- Full Name: Gan Tien Chor
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Hi Thomas ,
i did change the server name to VMSVEEAM10\VEEAM , but now the error message is "Warning : Updated failed" , anything that i did wrong? . Thank you very much for your assistant.
i did change the server name to VMSVEEAM10\VEEAM , but now the error message is "Warning : Updated failed" , anything that i did wrong? . Thank you very much for your assistant.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
It will probably be a duplicate entry that's causing your issue now, to confirm this can your change
to
Code: Select all
try
{
$cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() | Out-Null
}
catch
{
Write-Warning "Update failed"
}
finally
{
$conn.Close()
}
Code: Select all
try
{
$cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() | Out-Null
}
catch
{
"Error: $_"
}
finally
{
$conn.Close()
}
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 04, 2011 11:05 am
- Full Name: Gan Tien Chor
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Hi Thomas,
Thanks for fast reply, but i was busy past few days. i'd just tested the modified script at My lab & it is working fine now. i'll try at customer site next week. Tqvm for your help.By the way, what's your meaning of duplicate entry that's causing my issue? i'm so sorry, i m not good of Powershell command...
Regards,
Gan
Thanks for fast reply, but i was busy past few days. i'd just tested the modified script at My lab & it is working fine now. i'll try at customer site next week. Tqvm for your help.By the way, what's your meaning of duplicate entry that's causing my issue? i'm so sorry, i m not good of Powershell command...
Regards,
Gan
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
The duplicate entry is created if you've every used the manual way of updating the vCenter job after vMotion
1) vMotion vCenter VM
2) Edit job to remove old VC object and add in the new one via the GUI
Veeam will treat this as a new VM being added to the job and add another entry to its BObjects table, so you will have something like below
When you run the script it will attempt to update BOTH records with the same data and break the rules so the update will through an exception.
1) vMotion vCenter VM
2) Edit job to remove old VC object and add in the new one via the GUI
Veeam will treat this as a new VM being added to the job and add another entry to its BObjects table, so you will have something like below
Code: Select all
2d800d24-aee1-4f08-9027-56fac01cff4f 1253 vCenter01.vPowerCLI.Local
3f620ec5-1f4b-440a-aa36-fc16601053e2 1234 vCenter01.vPowerCLI.Local
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 04, 2011 11:05 am
- Full Name: Gan Tien Chor
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Hi Thomas,
i tried on customer site. but failed with below message
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Cannot insert duplicate key row in object 'dbo.BObjects' with unique index 'IX_BObjects'.
The statement has been terminated."
I tried delete vcenter backup job & delete from disk , then recreate & perform vCenter backup job . But problem still persist with same error message.
The only different between Lab & customer site are:
1)vcenter's VM name , Veeam's Server name
2)Lab using local disk , customer using SAN storage.
Thank you very much with your assistant.
i tried on customer site. but failed with below message
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Cannot insert duplicate key row in object 'dbo.BObjects' with unique index 'IX_BObjects'.
The statement has been terminated."
I tried delete vcenter backup job & delete from disk , then recreate & perform vCenter backup job . But problem still persist with same error message.
The only different between Lab & customer site are:
1)vcenter's VM name , Veeam's Server name
2)Lab using local disk , customer using SAN storage.
Thank you very much with your assistant.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 04, 2011 11:05 am
- Full Name: Gan Tien Chor
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Sorry 2 more different are
1)Lab using vSphere 5.0 & vCenter 5 , customer using vSphere 4.1 with vCenter 4.1
1)Lab using vSphere 5.0 & vCenter 5 , customer using vSphere 4.1 with vCenter 4.1
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Like said, the duplicate entry is in the DB itself and apart from removing it from there you cannot fix it from the GUI
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 04, 2011 11:05 am
- Full Name: Gan Tien Chor
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Dear Thomas,
Is it possible to fix it through SQL 2005 express Management Studio? or must use powershell to fix it? May i know how to do that (procedure)? tqvm.
Regards
Gan
Is it possible to fix it through SQL 2005 express Management Studio? or must use powershell to fix it? May i know how to do that (procedure)? tqvm.
Regards
Gan
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Yes and Both but is unsupported by Veeam, I'm not going to detail what you should do but have made a short video of how you could do it
BACKUP DB
BACKUP DB
Remove duplicate VC Object via SQL Management Express
If the video isn't enough or you don't understand it then please don't attempt it.
BACKUP DB
BACKUP DB
Remove duplicate VC Object via SQL Management Express
If the video isn't enough or you don't understand it then please don't attempt it.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Oct 06, 2011 8:03 am
- Full Name: Ian Cook
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Thanks for the time and effort you have put in Thomas, again im sorry for the slow repsonses.
I will test this change and get back to you
Thanks again
I will test this change and get back to you
Thanks again
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Oct 06, 2011 8:03 am
- Full Name: Ian Cook
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Ah the little computername change seems to have resolved my issues, thanks again Thomas
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 11
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jun 06, 2012 8:57 am
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Hi all,
does anyone know if there is a solution for this implemented in B&R Version 6.1?
Best regards,
Andreas
does anyone know if there is a solution for this implemented in B&R Version 6.1?
Best regards,
Andreas
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31707
- Liked: 7212 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
No changes in 6.1.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 11
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jun 06, 2012 8:57 am
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Thanks for the quick reply. Is it planned in future releases?
BR,
Andreas
BR,
Andreas
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31707
- Liked: 7212 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Why are you keep posting the same questions in two different threads?
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 11
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jun 06, 2012 8:57 am
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Because my first post was a new thread and in review state and because I didnt mention a support case ID i thought that it wont be accepted by the Moderators. Sorry for that.
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31707
- Liked: 7212 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Oh, OK. Actually, product and feature questions do not require support case ID, only technical issues do (bugs, errors any sort of malfunctions).
-
- Novice
- Posts: 3
- Liked: never
- Joined: May 24, 2012 4:25 pm
- Full Name: MARCUS D RODGERS
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
I tried your troubleshooting step because I was getting the same type of error -
Result:
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Conversion failed
when converting from a character string to uniqueidentifier."
Any Advice?
My code is as follows:ThomasMc wrote:ChangetoCode: Select all
try { $conn.Open() } catch { Write-Warning "Couldn't open connection" break }
and paste the resultsCode: Select all
try { $conn.Open() } catch { "Error: $_" break }
Code: Select all
asnp "VeeamPSSnapIn" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
$VCVMName = "DUvCenter"
$serverName = "$env:computername\VEEAM"
$databaseName = "VeeamBackup"
$vc = Find-VBRViEntity -Name $VCVMName | ?{$_.Reference -notlike "vm-*"}
$conn = New-Object System.Data.SQLClient.SQLConnection
$conn.ConnectionString = "Server=$serverName;Database=$databaseName;Integrated Security=SSPI;"
$cmd = New-Object System.Data.SQLClient.SQLCommand
$cmd.Connection = $conn
$cmd.CommandText = "UPDATE [BObjects] set host_id = '$($vc.ConnHost.Id)',
object_id = '$($vc.Reference)',
path = '$($vc.Path)' WHERE object_name = '$VCVMName' AND object_id NOT LIKE 'vm%'"
try
{
$conn.Open()
}
catch
{
Write-Warning "Couldn't open connection"
break
}
<# try
{
$cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() | Out-Null
}
catch
{
Write-Warning "Update failed"
}
finally
{
$conn.Close()
}
#>
try
{
$cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() | Out-Null
}
catch
{
"Error: $_"
}
finally
{
$conn.Close()
}
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Conversion failed
when converting from a character string to uniqueidentifier."
Any Advice?
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 282
- Liked: 26 times
- Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
- Full Name: Seth Bartlett
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
I would check the output of $cmd.CommandText and see if it looks like what you expect the SQL query to look like or if it's messed up. This part is probably messing it up:
object_name = '$VCVMName'
You have everything else as $($variable) and that by itself, it cannot convert properly, just either do $($VCVMName) or object_name = '" + $VCVMName + "'AND...
object_name = '$VCVMName'
You have everything else as $($variable) and that by itself, it cannot convert properly, just either do $($VCVMName) or object_name = '" + $VCVMName + "'AND...
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
That's how I wrote it
I would check the output of $cmd.CommandText and see if it looks like what you expect the SQL query to look like or if it's messed up. This part is probably messing it up:
object_name = '$VCVMName'
You have everything else as $($variable) and that by itself, it cannot convert properly, just either do $($VCVMName) or object_name = '" + $VCVMName + "'AND...
I would say the GUID is either missing or not returning how we would expect it to, so first if you could answer what version of Veeam your using and change the error trap a little to give us more info
Code: Select all
try
{
$conn.Open()
}
catch
{
"GUID: $($vc.Reference)"
$vc.Reference | Measure-Object -Character
"Error: $_"
break
}
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
Sorry, I selected the wrong command, try this
Code: Select all
try
{
$cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() | Out-Null
}
catch
{
"GUID: $($vc.Reference)"
$vc.Reference | Measure-Object -Character
"Error: $_"
break
}
finally
{
$conn.Close()
}
-
- Novice
- Posts: 8
- Liked: never
- Joined: Apr 05, 2012 10:52 am
- Full Name: Fausto Castro
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
v6.1 sql2k8R2 express
hi many tanks for the script workout. i am not passing the problem below:
output:
PS C:\> C:\go.ps1
GUID:
Lines Words Characters Property
----- ----- ---------- --------
0
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Conversion failed when converting from
a character string to uniqueidentifier."
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
found it by cmd:
PS C:\> $teco= Get-VBRJob -name "ALL" | Get-VBRJobObject -NAME "vcenter"
PS C:\> $teco.info.Objectid
Guid
----
dcad4480-9299-48fb-ac1e-893f3ebf5857
hi many tanks for the script workout. i am not passing the problem below:
Code: Select all
asnp "VeeamPSSnapIn" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
$VCVMName = "vcenter"
$serverName ="$env:computername\SQLEXPRESS"
$databaseName = "VeeamBackup"
$vc = Find-VBRViEntity -Name $VCVMName | ?{$_.Reference -notlike "vm-*"}
$conn = New-Object System.Data.SQLClient.SQLConnection
$conn.ConnectionString = "Server=$serverName;Database=$databaseName;Integrated Security=SSPI;"
$cmd = New-Object System.Data.SQLClient.SQLCommand
$cmd.Connection = $conn
$cmd.CommandText = "UPDATE [BObjects] set host_id = '$($vc.ConnHost.Id)',
object_id = '$($vc.Reference)',
path = '$($vc.Path)' WHERE object_name = '$VCVMName' AND object_id NOT LIKE 'vm%'"
try
{
$conn.Open()
}
catch
{
Write-Warning "Couldn't open connection"
break
}
try
{
$cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() | Out-Null
}
catch
{
"GUID: $($vc.Reference)"
$vc.Reference | Measure-Object -Character
"Error: $_"
break
}
finally
{
$conn.Close()
}
PS C:\> C:\go.ps1
GUID:
Lines Words Characters Property
----- ----- ---------- --------
0
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Conversion failed when converting from
a character string to uniqueidentifier."
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
found it by cmd:
PS C:\> $teco= Get-VBRJob -name "ALL" | Get-VBRJobObject -NAME "vcenter"
PS C:\> $teco.info.Objectid
Guid
----
dcad4480-9299-48fb-ac1e-893f3ebf5857
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
I'll have a look to see what's been changed in the latest version
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
This should fix it, some bright spark thought he could make up the rules with this one :S
*6.1 only*
change
to
*6.1 only*
change
Code: Select all
$vc = Find-VBRViEntity -Name $VCVMName | ?{$_.Reference -notlike "vm-*"}
Code: Select all
$vc = Find-VBRViEntity -Name $VCVMName | ?{($_.Reference -notlike "vm-*") -AND ($null -ne $_.Reference)}
-
- Novice
- Posts: 8
- Liked: never
- Joined: Apr 05, 2012 10:52 am
- Full Name: Fausto Castro
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
tanks,
gives the bellow error:
GUID:
Lines Words Characters Property
----- ----- ---------- --------
0
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Conversion failed when converting from a character string to uniqueidentifier."
gives the bellow error:
GUID:
Lines Words Characters Property
----- ----- ---------- --------
0
Error: Exception calling "ExecuteNonQuery" with "0" argument(s): "Conversion failed when converting from a character string to uniqueidentifier."
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: HOWTO: Backing up vCenter host issues
can you post the output of the below command
thanks
Code: Select all
Find-VBRViEntity -Name "your.vcenter.vm"
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests