Workduration unit ?

PowerShell script exchange

Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:12 am

Hi,

What is the unit of the Auxdata member named Workduration ?
is it ticks ?

Thank you.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:11 am

Auxdata is our internal parameter used to store generic information in unformatted way. So, there is little sense to make use of it.

Can you tell what you're trying to achieve? May there is a more convenient way to do that.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:18 am

I'm building an auditing script to build average counters.

For each job my script determines:
- average full size, duration and then speed
- average inc size, duration and then speed.

Thus, being able to detect abnormal deviation and also measure the effects of my advices.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:51 am

Sure, it's possible with PowerShell. But don't you think that this task can be achieved in much easier way, using Veeam ONE? Or you don't happen to have it deployed?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:29 am

:D

I know but Veeam One is not an option here since the Customer has not the license (they are using vcops), and I can't deploy. I'm in a read only situation with limited access.

I have a personnal toolkit with assesment scripts and I'm building a new one for a special purpose. I noticed that property in the XML data and thought I would save time using it instead of calculating the diff between start and end timestamp.

Edit: I'll try to cast it to a timespan to see if it is
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:42 am

Take a look at this thread to understand how job avg.speed and duration can be gotten via PS. As to calculating backup size, this topic might be useful. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:46 am

Thanks
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:22 pm

Let me know, should you come across any problem with scripting; will be glad to help.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:32 pm 1 person likes this post

In fact everything is working now
I found all the info I needed in the info.progress property... :-)
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:09 pm

Glad to know. I guess even PS cannot stand the power of Veeam Vanguard. :)
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:49 pm 2 people like this post

Yes :-)

Kind of output I was looking for :

JOBXXXX has 9 sessions
--------------------------------------------------------------
9 Full and 0 incremental
Average Full Size (Transfered) 216G
Average Full duration 71 Min
Average Full speed 52 MB/s
Average Increment size (Transfered) 363G
Average Increment duration 407 Min
Average Increment speed 15 MB/s
First Bottleneck : Source
Bottleneck Target: 1x Source: 8x Network: 0x Proxy: 0x
--------------------------------------------------------------


JOBXXXX has 167 sessions
--------------------------------------------------------------
20 Full and 120 incremental
Average Full Size (Transfered) 1060G
Average Full duration 553 Min
Average Full speed 33 MB/s
Average Increment size (Transfered) 106G
Average Increment duration 319 Min
Average Increment speed 6 MB/s
First Bottleneck : Source
Bottleneck Target: 68x Source: 69x Network: 3x Proxy: 0x
--------------------------------------------------------------


JOBXXXX has 154 sessions
--------------------------------------------------------------
20 Full and 120 incremental
Average Full Size (Transfered) 1336G
Average Full duration 539 Min
Average Full speed 42 MB/s
Average Increment size (Transfered) 149G
Average Increment duration 286 Min
Average Increment speed 9 MB/s
First Bottleneck : Source
Bottleneck Target: 65x Source: 69x Network: 5x Proxy: 0x
--------------------------------------------------------------
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Workduration unit ?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:37 pm

Nice output Eric!
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to PowerShell



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests