Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Management reporting and documentation

Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:07 am

Hello,

I would like to get the dashboard by Group of Host, ESX, VMs, for Production, Development, & Test.
The split is done by Cluster and/or Host.

I saw I could have the reports by ESX, Cluster or Infrastructure checking for something intermediate... Clusters group?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:15 am

Hello,

I tried with Business View where I was able to group the clusters but the design of the dashboard is poor compared to Veeam reporter dashboards...
Trying to get a mixed between the grouping of business view and the presentation of Veeam Reporter

Any advice is welcome
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:55 am

Hi Dom,

What kind of dashboard you would like to have? Would you like to review performance of these objects? Have you checked our predefined dashboard for clusters, hosts, VMs and datastores in Veeam ONE v6.5?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:06 pm

Hi S.,
Yes I checked the Veeam One 6.5 predefined reports there are excellent. My issue is the grouping I need these reports by Clusters Groups with one more split on top of Infrastructure, Cluster, Host, VMs.
The Group of clusters is between the Infrastructure and the clusters. I have several dev clusters (VIOPP_DEV, VIOPP-DEV2, etc...) and prod clusters (VIOPP-PROD, VIOPP-PROD1, etc...) in the same datacenter I would like the Veeam Report per Prod or Dev environment grouping the clusters.

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Aug 15, 2013 10:32 am 1 person likes this post

Dom,

Got it! Unfortunately, BV cluster groups are not available in the predefined report templates yet, but thanks for the feedback, makes sense. On the other hand you can achieve what you want with a custom dashboard, create any cluster widget and target this widget to the clusters you need.

Here is what you need to do: create New Dashboard -> VMware Cluster Performance Utilization widget pack -> choose any of the predefined widgets.

Hope this helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:26 pm

Hello,
I have to create the group of clusters in Business View, isn't it?
Or is it from the Scope in the Widget?

What will be the best?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:36 pm 1 person likes this post

I believe using scope in these widgets would be an easier way.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:47 pm

Let me work on this ...
Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:10 am

Hello,
The Scope in the widgets works fine. but what will be the value to use the Business object view on the scope? it is available but I am not sure what it will add, filter?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:21 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, BV control works like a filter there, so you either pick all clusters you need manually, or choose the entire scope and filter your clusters with the BV groups.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Dashboard by Clusters Group?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:04 pm

OK I will be careful as SCOPE and Business View might confuse the result for some users :)
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN


Return to Reporting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests