Management reporting and documentation
Post Reply
RobRunVirt
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 07, 2019 7:30 am
Full Name: Roberto
Contact:

Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by RobRunVirt » Nov 21, 2019 9:57 am

Hi,

For some reason I get information of snapshots " VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT". I would like to exclude this from the report.
I have ticked the box " Do not report on VMs created by Veeam replication jobs"
Is there another way to get the "VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT" information excluded from the "Active Snapshots" report?


Many thanks in advance.


Regard,
Roberto

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 746
Liked: 195 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by Egor Yakovlev » Nov 21, 2019 10:26 am 2 people like this post

Hi Roberto,

there is no way to exclude Backup Snapshots as those are actual live snapshots on production machines - its a whole reason why Active Snapshots report exists. Backup snapshot, which is auto-excluded from Alarms, it might get stuck too, and its a perfect case where Alarms are all Green, and Active Snapshots report saves the day by showing you actual snapshots present in the environment.
Thing about Replication Jobs, is that first of all, its a secondary copy or production servers, and then all restore points of Replicated VM are Snapshots as a fact, so it is not "abnormal" snapshot you want to know about.

Thanks!

RobRunVirt
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 07, 2019 7:30 am
Full Name: Roberto
Contact:

Re: Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by RobRunVirt » Nov 21, 2019 11:37 am

Thanks you so much for the fast reply. I understand what you mean. For me it's fine.

The end goal for me is to send a report to another team which snapshots they have running for more than 3 days.
I'm going to use a powershell script instead to inform my colleagues.

Many thanks,


Cheers,
Roberto

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7059
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by Shestakov » Nov 21, 2019 4:05 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello Roberto,
Do you have a lot of temporary snapshots older than 3 days?

RobRunVirt
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 07, 2019 7:30 am
Full Name: Roberto
Contact:

Re: Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by RobRunVirt » Nov 28, 2019 12:04 pm

Hi,

When I run "Get-VM | Get-Snapshot | Select VM,Name,Created" I don't see Veeam Temporary Snapshots.
Actually I am not sure if you referring to the "Veeam Temporary Snapshots"

Thanks.

Roberto

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7059
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by Shestakov » Dec 02, 2019 7:11 pm 1 person likes this post

I mean that there is usually no temporary snapshots older than 3 days. VBR has snapshot hunter mechanism and ONE notifies you if there is an "Orphaned VM backup snapshot" with a corresponding alarm.
So my question was if you had a lot of them. It's netter to figure out why there are many of them left instead of ignoring them in the report.
Thanks

RobRunVirt
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 07, 2019 7:30 am
Full Name: Roberto
Contact:

Re: Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by RobRunVirt » Dec 03, 2019 1:14 pm

Hi Nikita,

Sorry for the late response.

Thanks again for your answer. I indeed have a lot of them in my report.
Not sure what happened. I am not ignoring it, actually I get the reports every day. Not sure where to look at.


Regard,
Roberto

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23222
Liked: 1610 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Exclude Veeam Backp from Report "Active Snapshots"

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 03, 2019 1:46 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Roberto,

If you have orphaned snapshots then start consolidating them on the production VMs as running VMs on snapshot can affect its performance.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests