Performance on CPU0 Only

Management reporting and documentation

Performance on CPU0 Only

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:33 pm

Hello,

Is it possible to get a performance report for the past three days only on CPU0 for an ESX Server? (not all CPUs combined)

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Performance on CPU0 Only

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:24 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

Only total CPU Usage can be displayed via reports. Could you please tell me how do use CPU utilization only for 1 core?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Performance on CPU0 Only

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Thu May 03, 2012 11:09 pm

Hello,

Not sure how nWorks MP is capturing this information as from the nWork MP I am receiving this alert...

CPU0 on Host servername.domain has exceeded usage threshold by using 99.3333333333333%.

with the following details:

Source: CPU0 CPU0 on Host servername.domain has exceeded usage threshold by using 97.6666666666667%.
Path: servername.domain\CPU\CPU0
Alert Monitor: nworks VMware: ESX Host CPU has exceeded usage threshold

Summary
This CPU instance has exceeded threshold for CPU usage percent

Causes
VMHostCPU-cpuUsedPct: Percentage of time during which the host CPU was busy during the last interval.

Resolutions
Check available CPU resources and configuration (CPU Shares, Reservations etc.). Check how many VMs are running on this Host. Check VM processor affinity. View graphed historical data here

External Knowledge Sources
Refer to VMware's online documentation and the nworks Online Dictionary for more information.

with the following configuration
- <Configuration>
<ObjectName>VMHost-Cpu</ObjectName>
<CounterName>cpuUsedPct</CounterName>
<InstanceName>$Data/Property[@Name='cpuName']$</InstanceName>
<Value>$Data/Property[@Name='cpuUsedPct']$</Value>
<Threshold1>85</Threshold1>
<Threshold2>90</Threshold2>
<EntityIdTarget>$Target/Property[Type="nworks.VMware.VEM.VMHOSTCPU"]/id$</EntityIdTarget>
<ClassName>HOSTCPUSTATS</ClassName>
<NumSamples>1</NumSamples>
</Configuration>

From this knowledge it refers to VMware documentation
So now I need to provide information on a weekly basis about the usage for CPU0 and/or other CPUs...?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Performance on CPU0 Only

Veeam Logoby Vitaly.Mzokov » Fri May 04, 2012 12:09 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

As Vitaliy has already mentioned, only total CPU Usage can be monitored and displayed on Veeam ONE v6's reports.

And YES, you're correct - By default, nWorks Collector gathers even lower level metrics (e.g. per-CPU Core performance) from its monitored VMware objects.

As for Veeam ONE v6, could you please let me know of the usage example when you do require per-CPU Core monitoring and reporting, so we could understand the main idea behind the scene?

Thanks,
VM.
Vitaly.Mzokov
Expert
 
Posts: 173
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:30 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Mzokov

Re: Performance on CPU0 Only

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Thu May 17, 2012 7:55 pm

Hello Vitaly,

I am getting alerts through nWorks that the CPU0 is overused. So my managment is asking me to get the same information from ate least two other sources to be sure it is not a SCOM/nWorks issue but reallly a VM issue.

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Performance on CPU0 Only

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 17, 2012 8:05 pm 2 people like this post

Dom, you may want to check CPU0 utilization via vSphere Client to verify that this is not an nworks MP issue. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Reporting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests