Management reporting and documentation
Post Reply
spf62
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Full Name: Steve Fritsch
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

VEEAM SQL database??

Post by spf62 » Apr 06, 2011 12:52 pm

Hello all,
We just started using Monitor and I am being tasked with adding reporter.
We are using SQL 2008
My question is, does reporter use the same database as Veeam Monitor? or should it have it's own?

Alexey D.

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by Alexey D. » Apr 06, 2011 12:56 pm

No, Reporter uses its own separate database. However, Reporter and Monitor can share the same SQL Server instance, for example.

spf62
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Full Name: Steve Fritsch
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by spf62 » Apr 06, 2011 1:24 pm

I'm looking through more of the requirements and is there a client? or do I run everything from the server?
If from the server, it appears I need to install Microsoft office and a PDF viewer??

thanks in advance for your help

Alexey D.

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by Alexey D. » Apr 06, 2011 1:34 pm

Reporter has web frontend so it's accessible from any machine just by typing URL address in a browser. No need to install clients.

If you export reports you need application which can open corresponding file format. However, Reporter has strong online reporting capabilities - so you can preview your reports in browser's window, even before exporting.

spf62
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Full Name: Steve Fritsch
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by spf62 » Apr 06, 2011 1:35 pm

Awesome.
Thank you for your quick repsonse

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 06, 2011 1:36 pm

As regards other system requirements, then please take a look at the Release Notes document:
http://www.veeam.com/files/release_note ... _notes.pdf

spf62
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Full Name: Steve Fritsch
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by spf62 » Apr 06, 2011 5:00 pm

ugh... still having problems. Can't connect to database during install.
I have verified the database username and pass are correct.
Keep getting "found database, but not accessible"

Back to the DBA's...

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 06, 2011 6:56 pm

Steve, try using Management Studio to connect to the SQL Server Instance. If you're able to establish the connection, please contact our support team for further troubleshooting steps.

Alexey D.

Re: VEEAM SQL database??

Post by Alexey D. » Apr 07, 2011 12:51 pm

You can also check Configuration Manager and verify that protocols TCP/IP and Named Pipes are enabled for your instance of SQL Server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest