VMotion report blank

Management reporting and documentation

VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby drock_in_nc » Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:31 pm

It says it is blank because there is no shared storage which is simply false. We have several shared LUNS. Does this product work or not????????????????? Not impressed....
drock_in_nc
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:44 pm
Full Name: Derek Cassese

Re: VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby drock_in_nc » Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:41 pm

So it seems that because I have 3 HA clusters that this tool then thinks I have no shared storgae. Also, I have done around 10 reports and not one has been readable. The layout is unusable. Am I going to have to do one host at a time.????
drock_in_nc
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:44 pm
Full Name: Derek Cassese

Re: VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:43 pm

Hello. Did you open the support case with our support to troubleshoot this? May be you do not create report on the right level, or this could be a bug specific to the environment.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:44 pm

Just noted your second post. We have completely reworked the layout to scale large environments in the upcoming version 3.5 - we are planning to release in a week. Thank you.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby drock_in_nc » Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:09 pm

Interested in getting that because honestly I tried to work with this all day and I really can not use any of these reports. The VMotion report looks like a giant ball or wire. The layout is so tangled I can not use it.

My environment is is follows:

10 ESX Hosts
8 Shared LUNS
100+ VMs
20 VLANS per host

Well actually we have more but that is all I am trying to report on at the moment.

Are you addressing the way the visio reports are drawn for large environments? Is there a beta I could get my hands on? Will I get this as a free upgrade?
drock_in_nc
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:44 pm
Full Name: Derek Cassese

Re: VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:22 pm

I know what you are talking about on your VMotion report... It is completely redesigned in 3.5.
Yes, upgrades are free for customers on maintenance.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby drock_in_nc » Sun Mar 15, 2009 1:39 am

Well I am anxiously awaiting this new release. Another weird thing I noticed is that some of my ESX hosts do not show the VMs that they are hosting in the Network report. Some do some dont. Is there some config that needs to be done from the ESX perspective??? I have a pile of VMs at the bottom that are not associated with a Host. Also, why do a lot of my guests show up with a yellow ! symbol????
drock_in_nc
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:44 pm
Full Name: Derek Cassese

Re: VMotion report blank

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:50 pm

Please open the support case on the first problem - it's hard to understand what is happening without seeing the actual report and logs.
For guests with yellow sign, you can try to enable callouts when creating the report - this would give you more information on each object. Thank you.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Reporting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests