Agent-based backups for Windows and Linux, centralized agent management
Post Reply
topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Community edition

Post by topak »

guys - i downloaded and installed community edition for one single physical computer and maybe another computer on the same network. This is just for home backup to an external 8Tb HDD- no hyperv, etc. I see the installed components are veeam backup & repication remote access console but don't see anything to set a backup schedule for my main computer. Any idea what I should be doing? I did install the full veaam backup & replication which was the first option off the ISO

Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26319
Liked: 4104 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by Gostev »

Hello, this should be a good start > Veeam Agent Management Guide

By the way, Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition might be an overkill for just 1-2 computers. In this scenario, most users usually choose to use standalone Veeam Agent for Windows/Linux instead.

Thanks!

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

With standalone agent, can I also backup another computer's files? I need about 50g of files from the other computer and I can map a network drive to it. Thanks

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1898
Liked: 268 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by jmmarton »

No, the Veeam Agent for Windows only backs up local volumes.

Joe

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

I still need help after reading through that link. I opened veeam backup & replication remote access console and it prompts for choosing tenant, backup server etc. I plan to stick with Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition but can't figure out next steps

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26319
Liked: 4104 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by Gostev »

You're opening the wrong console, Veeam Backup & Replication Remote Access Console one is designed for managed service providers for remove access and management of their clients' backup servers.

You need to use Veeam Backup & Replication Console.

However, please note that you won't be able to backup those 50GB of files with Veeam Backup & Replication either, as its current version does not support file backup. So, you won't gain anything comparing to just using Veeam Agent for Windows on your computer, as per my earlier suggestion.

Thanks!

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

I"m surprised it doesn't support something like basic file backup

I can go with agent but read that it doesn't support incremental backups like the community edition does (synthetic backup feature)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26319
Liked: 4104 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by Gostev »

Agent does support incremental backups, just like the community edition.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11540
Liked: 1001 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by Dima P. »

Hello topak,

Veeam Agent for Windows operates in forever forward incremental backup mode by default and it works perfectly for both volume based backup and file based backup. Synthetic full backup is available in paid editions (workstation or server edition) but for free version you can enable periodic active full backups.

You can get Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows FREE here. Hope this helps!

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

I'm using Veeam agent. If I choose Entire computer backup, will I be able to selectively restore just 1-2 files in the future or that option only exists with volume/file level backup

Thx

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3416
Liked: 685 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by nielsengelen »

You can restore individual files then.
https://foonet.be

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

one more - I plan to keep my external USB drive in my bank safety box and only bring it home to backup every 90 days. What should I set for this option - Keep backup for xx days

Thx

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11540
Liked: 1001 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by Dima P. »

Hello,

Yes, retention value should cover all the time while you want you backup file to e operational. To learn more about retention, kindly, check this help center article. Thanks!

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

The backup completed with errors. I'm viewing the log file but it's extremely log. Is there an easy way to tell which files were not backed up correctly?

Thanks

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3416
Liked: 685 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by nielsengelen »

The log files should be clear to tell which volumes failed to backup.
https://foonet.be

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

it was only a single volume, I'm looking for files that were not backed up correctly or not at all. Which exact log file should I be looking at?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3416
Liked: 685 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by nielsengelen »

If u choose volume it should be all there. Which errors are u receiving?
https://foonet.be

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11540
Liked: 1001 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by Dima P. »

topak,

In Veeam Agent for Windows Control Panel click the red / failed bar on the chart and share the screenshot please. Thank you in advance!

topak
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 24, 2019 10:37 pm
Full Name: topak lohat
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by topak »

no attachment functionality here so posting a link
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rj9z0n85e903z ... m.png?dl=0

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26319
Liked: 4104 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Community edition

Post by Gostev »

Topak, please bear in mind that this is NOT a support forum, and forum rules specifically ask not to post logs here. In case of technical issues, you are expected to open a support case. For details, click the link in red font provided when you click New Topic. Thank you for understanding!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest