Agent-based backup of Windows, Linux, Max, AIX and Solaris machines.
MikeLeone
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Michael Leone

Confused - need a backup job that includes VMs and a Windows Share

Post by MikeLeone »

I'm very new to Veeam, so please bear with me. I've been using EMC Networker for 17 years, so I'm familiar with backup concepts, just not clear on how to implement what I want in Veeam.

Using Veeam B&R 11.0.1.

I need a backup job that includes 5 VMs from VMware vCenter, and also the contents of a Windows share, all in the same job. I am told by my developers that all the data needs to be consistent, and so backed up, all in the same job, all at the same time.

So I created a backup job (Backup job-> Virtual Machines), and added my 5 VMs. No problem, looks like it should all Just Work. But how to I add that Windows share to this same job? If I edit the job, and try and add another source, all I see are my VMs, I don't see any way to add a Windows share to this job.

Do I need to instead make the job as Windows computers, meaning it will push the agent? If so, my Windows share is actually a Windows cluster, would that make a difference? Since it's a cluster, it won't show up as a VM name, even thought the nodes are actually VMs.

I would ask support, but my account isn't set up to open technical cases. I've asked my boss to change that, but in the meantime, I need to get this done.

Thanks for any clues.
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2294 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Confused - need a backup job that includes VMs and a Windows Share

Post by Mildur »

Hello

VM jobs and Veeam Agent for Windows backup jobs cannot protect "file shares". For that we have file share backup jobs.
But even if you could have everything in the same job, nobody can guarantee you that the VSS snapshot or file backup happens in the same millisecond for all machines.