Agent-based backups for Windows and Linux, centralized agent management
Post Reply
astoinemicro
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 12, 2021 4:13 pm
Full Name: morad astoine
Contact:

Reduce retention policy

Post by astoinemicro »

Hi Team ,
My storage is going to be full pretty soon , if i reduce the retention policy from 60 days to 30 days , what are the impacts on the storage space ? and how can i force veeam to clean the backups to free space ?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 8842
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Reduce retention policy

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
the software will automatically reduce the retention after a successful backup. No need / way to manually force it.

Best regards,
Hannes

astoinemicro
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 12, 2021 4:13 pm
Full Name: morad astoine
Contact:

Re: Reduce retention policy

Post by astoinemicro »

Thank you for quick response
Is there any way i can manually force it from veeam ?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 8842
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Reduce retention policy

Post by HannesK »

as I mentioned earlier: no way to force it manually. retention gets applied after a successful backup only.

astoinemicro
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 12, 2021 4:13 pm
Full Name: morad astoine
Contact:

Re: Reduce retention policy

Post by astoinemicro »

when the retention will be applied , there will be always some backupus who will be left on the storage , should i manually delete them by selecting them ?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 8842
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Reduce retention policy

Post by HannesK »

there will be always some backupus who will be left on the storage
only the amount configured.

please reduce the number of days / restore points if you need less. deleting backup files is a bad idea in general, because the software doesn't know where the files have gone. I mean sure, you can delete, but that would delete your newest restore points leaving you with old backups (at least as long as you delete the right files. they depend on each other as shown by modification date / name of the file). Makes little sense to be, but sure, you can :-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests