Agent-based backup of Windows, Linux, Max, AIX and Solaris machines.
curt132
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Curt Sappe

veeam community edition encryption

Post by curt132 »

Hello everybody,

im new to veeam and i am currently evaluating the veeam community edition which looks great so far especially for the price.
Im backuping a single DC with job mode server and and backup mode "entire computer" . That all works fine.

Now I am wondering if its possible to encrypt the backups with this licence edition.

I have activated encryption in the backup job in adv.settings of the job. I think that should be the right option.
But when i try a restore of the files he is not asking for credentials and is just restoring without credentials.
So my question would be, is this behaviour because im restoring from the server where veeam is installed so thats why is not asking for credentials?
Or is this behaviour because its not supported in community licence, or 3. option I am missing something completedly?

Maybe someone can help, Thnx in advance :D
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2287 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: veeam community edition encryption

Post by Mildur »

Hi Curt

Encryption is fully supported for the community edition.
The only limitation, you can't use our Password Loss Protection feature in case you want to import encrypted backups and you have lost your password used for the encryption.
But when i try a restore of the files he is not asking for credentials and is just restoring without credentials.
So my question would be, is this behaviour because im restoring from the server where veeam is installed so thats why is not asking for credentials?
This is expected behavior. The Veeam Server has the the information to encrypt and decrypt backup files stored in its database.