Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
husamsaad
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 18, 2022 6:28 am
Full Name: Husam Saad
Contact:

add media pool grayed out

Post by husamsaad »

Hi dears ,,

I tried to add media pool in step to add tape library from tape infrastructure , but icon add media pool is grayed out !!
any body can help me ?!

Image

Thanks in advance
BR

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 3150
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add media pool grayed out

Post by Mildur »

Hi Husam

Welcome to the forums.
You don‘t have added a Tape Server to your veeam backup server. You must do that before you can work with Tapes.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110

Thanks
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

husamsaad
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 18, 2022 6:28 am
Full Name: Husam Saad
Contact:

Re: add media pool grayed out

Post by husamsaad »

Thanks Dear Fabian for quickly response :)
I did that but still media pool is grayed out , Tape library connected through network connection and I can access by IP

Image
Image
Image

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 3150
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add media pool grayed out

Post by Mildur »

Your welcome. :)
Seems the tape server has no tape hardware installed.

Make sure that the connection to the tape device is correctly configured in the iSCSI Initiator, tape drivers are installed and if it’s recognized in the device manager on your windows machine. You can do a rescan of the tape server after all that is done.

If tapes are still not visible, please open a support case with Veeam to check if something is wrong.
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests