Append files to tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Append files to tape

Veeam Logoby redhorse » Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:31 am

I have a media pool with the retention policy “Do not protect data (cyclically overwrite tapes as required)” and two tapes are assigned to this media pool. This media pool is used for some special jobs which run once when they are needed.

Now, the two tapes store different content:

-Tape 1: Some old Servers
-Tape 2: Some old Userdata

I have the need to append some data to the tapes, sometimes to Tape 1 and sometimes to Tape 2, but after I added Tape 2 to the media pool Veeam seems always to ask for this tape although Tape 1 is in the library. Is this behaviour by design and do I have to create different media pools for the different data? If so, how do I move Tape 2 to a new media pool without marking at as fere?

Thanks in advance!
redhorse
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH

Re: Append files to tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:49 pm

Hi redhorse,

Both tapes are in the same media pool, right?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Append files to tape

Veeam Logoby redhorse » Tue Mar 08, 2016 4:53 am

Yes, that's right.
redhorse
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH

Re: Append files to tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:24 am

The tapes within one media pool are written successively, so once one tape is changed by another you cant use the first tape unless you erase it. (Check the sequences number of the tape – last tape can be used for append all previous cannot)

You can split the tapes between two media pools to achieve your goal.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Append files to tape

Veeam Logoby redhorse » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:27 am

Okay, is it possbile to move a tape to a seperate media pool without loosing the data, to have the chance to append data to this tape?
redhorse
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH

Re: Append files to tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:39 am

Unfortunately no. You have to do it before starting using the media – otherwise it’s going to be marked as free.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests