Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
pkelly_sts
Expert
Posts: 562
Liked: 61 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly
Contact:

Appending to Yearly tape GFS media set that was ejected

Post by pkelly_sts » Oct 31, 2017 3:11 pm

If we've previously removed a GFS Yearly tape that still hase lots of capacity left and we re-insert it into the tape library before the next yearly job is due to run, will it append to the tape(s) or will it consider the media set closed because the tape was removed?

I can't remember what the rules are re: removing tapes... (I WANT it to append as I have a 2.4tb tape with 2.3tb free that I'd like to append to).
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8756
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Appending to Yearly tape GFS media set that was ejected

Post by Dima P. » Nov 03, 2017 12:56 pm

Hi Paul,

Was new tape used after the said tape removal? If the media set was closed for this particular tape it wont be possible to append data.

pkelly_sts
Expert
Posts: 562
Liked: 61 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly
Contact:

Re: Appending to Yearly tape GFS media set that was ejected

Post by pkelly_sts » Nov 03, 2017 1:06 pm

No, no further tapes used. I thought I remembered reading that a media set is closed when a tape is ejected but I'm not 100% sure?
Is there an easy way to see if a specific media set is closed?
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8756
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Appending to Yearly tape GFS media set that was ejected

Post by Dima P. » Nov 09, 2017 2:59 pm

The media set considered closed if you have export option checked (export the following media sets upon job completion).

pkelly_sts
Expert
Posts: 562
Liked: 61 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly
Contact:

Re: Appending to Yearly tape GFS media set that was ejected

Post by pkelly_sts » Nov 10, 2017 9:32 am

Ah, no, have definitely never ticked export, only eject, so hopefully, when the tapes are placed back in the library, they should just be appended to but I'll make sure I have some spare tapes just in case ;-)
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8756
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Appending to Yearly tape GFS media set that was ejected

Post by Dima P. » Nov 10, 2017 6:07 pm

If the tape was manually removed then try to load it backup, perform inventory and, in general, tape job should continue to use this media.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests