Discussions specific to tape backups
Novae
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 31, 2015 1:52 pm
Contact:

VM To Tape without Repository?

Post by Novae » Jul 16, 2018 10:55 am

Hi,

first of all the Infrastructure:
- vCenter 6.5
- NetApp Storage
- Backups over NetApp Storage SnapShots
- Windows 2012 R2 Server with attached HBA -> TapeLibrary (fully recognized by Veeam)

So now we want to backup our VMs additional to Tape.
After searching the Forum, i understood that the SnapShot to vm is not recommned because the snapshot would only work on the system.
So, how can I backup the VMs direct to tape? without backing them up to an Repository first?

Best Regards

Novae
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 31, 2015 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: VM To Tape without Repository?

Post by Novae » Jul 16, 2018 11:46 am

Can't edit anymore
Novae wrote:After searching the Forum, i understood that the SnapShot to vm is not recommned
"i understood that the SnapShot to *tape is not recommned"

skrause
Expert
Posts: 368
Liked: 66 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: VM To Tape without Repository?

Post by skrause » Jul 19, 2018 8:37 pm

The only type of direct to tape available with Veeam is File to Tape jobs which have a lot of limitations.

Veeam does not support image level backups being sent direct to tape, it is a Disk to Disk to Tape implementation.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15807
Liked: 1252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: VM To Tape without Repository?

Post by v.Eremin » Jul 24, 2018 7:54 pm

Steve is spot on. VM has to be backed up to repository first before being archived to tapes. Thanks.

Poweruser
Expert
Posts: 185
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser
Contact:

[MERGED] FEATURE REQUEST: VM direct full to Tape Backup

Post by Poweruser » Jul 25, 2018 4:42 pm

If Repository is running on the same machine as the Hyper-V Host, it is useless.
So if you want to go the "classic" way, you need direct VM to Tape Backup.
Also you should be able to select wether to write full or incremental to Tape.

Quick Hack for Dev's:
1. Make normal Full Backup Job running daily.
2. Make follow Tape Job which runs after 1. and writes it to Tape
3. (Veeam Developers Job) Add option to remove Backup of 1. because it's already on Tape. (Metadata should be preserved) (Tape should include full day backup + metadatas for repo)

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9464
Liked: 736 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

[MERGED] Re: FEATURE REQUEST: VM direct full to Tape Backup

Post by Dima P. » Jul 25, 2018 5:00 pm

Poweruser,

We follow traditional disk to disk to tape approach, so vm backup on disk is required for tape job as a source. I've added your vote to this feature request, thanks!

Poweruser
Expert
Posts: 185
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Poweruser » Jul 25, 2018 5:11 pm

Yes, thats my problem too!
Backup to disk is awful if forced to...

Novae
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 31, 2015 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [MERGED] FEATURE REQUEST: VM direct full to Tape Backup

Post by Novae » Jul 26, 2018 8:36 am

Poweruser wrote:3. (Veeam Developers Job) Add option to remove Backup of 1. because it's already on Tape. (Metadata should be preserved) (Tape should include full day backup + metadatas for repo)
that would be awesome.

For now we created a iSCSI Volume on another NetApp Server, mounted it to the TapeServer (Physical) and use it as an repository.
So all Backups will be written to this repository and then the Tapeserver will copy it to the Tapes.

for now we have enough space to have an copy of all machines in the repository, but a "deletion after copied to tape" would be really nice for the future.

Or even better in one Job -> TapeJob -> Copy VM(s) to Repo -> Copy to Tape -> Delete from Repo
That would be near my dream solution ;)

Poweruser
Expert
Posts: 185
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Poweruser » Jul 26, 2018 9:35 am

If we talk about dreams:

Backup VM direct to Tape... thats the Dream :-)

nitro1
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 07, 2018 8:07 am
Full Name: Nir Bar natan
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup VM directly to TAPE

Post by nitro1 » Oct 07, 2018 8:12 am

Hello,

Does VEEAM supporting backup VM'S directly to tape library?
Or it required a B2D first?

Thanks.

skrause
Expert
Posts: 368
Liked: 66 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by skrause » Oct 08, 2018 1:18 pm

For image level backups of VMs you need to go to disk first.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

Gandalf
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 17, 2019 10:17 am
Full Name: Paul Vogel
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Gandalf » Jan 17, 2019 10:22 am

I know Veeam has not the intention to enable VM-backups directly to tape.
I just wanted to let you know that this would be a very nice feature among your "best practice scenarios".
Would save us a lot of money since we have to backup large VM's (4-8TB) and dont have the need to backup also to disk.

Cheers.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6309
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Shestakov » Jan 17, 2019 11:05 am

Hello Paul and welcome to the community!
Indeed the feature is not delivered yet, neither will be in the upcoming release.
However, your request is taken into account for later versions.

Poweruser
Expert
Posts: 185
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Poweruser » Jan 17, 2019 1:46 pm

Gandalf wrote:
Jan 17, 2019 10:22 am
I know Veeam has not the intention to enable VM-backups directly to tape.
I just wanted to let you know that this would be a very nice feature among your "best practice scenarios".
Would save us a lot of money since we have to backup large VM's (4-8TB) and dont have the need to backup also to disk.
Cheers.
Gandalf is right, its a big waste of space if you double backup.
at least veam should do the following:
first remove old backup, then write new one. so retention images are 1 to zero. means it will drop freespace before backing up. so we dont need to keep double space for backup.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6309
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Shestakov » Jan 17, 2019 3:55 pm

It's a second copy of backup. not "waste of space". Restore from tape takes longer than from disk, so it's good to have a copy of backup on disk.
Removing a backup prior to creation of new one doesn't seem like a good idea either. Imagine if backup process fails.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests