Using tape as a backup target
Poweruser
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Poweruser »

we dont want any disk backup, just tape only!
yes disk is usefull but it is too expensive to keep all vms there and at least 2 times during backup.
especially if there are 2 different jobs for the same vms.

1 offline backup 1 online vss backup job.
nearly same data, but wasting double hdd space.
but go to different tapes.
so i want to keep one series there only.

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Shestakov »

I've got your point.
The request is taken into account, thanks!

titan4
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 01, 2019 4:55 am
Full Name: Ulan

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by titan4 »

Good day!
We also really need the function for direct backup from the RMAN plugin - to the tape library. We do not have extra space to store backups on disks. Tell me please, should we wait for such a function or switch to software from another vendor?

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1705
Liked: 189 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by wishr »

Hi Ulan,

We hope you understand we cannot comment on future release plans, product roadmaps, and timelines, however, in this particular situation I can mention that there are no short-term implementation plans for "direct RMAN to tape" functionality.

Regards,
Fedor

baber
Expert
Posts: 665
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

[MERGED] How can get backup directly to TAPE drive

Post by baber »

Is that possible create a job that can directly reside backup on TAPE and don't copy them on repository directly send to TAPE

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1705
Liked: 189 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: How can get backup directly to TAPE drive

Post by wishr »

Hi Babak,

No, currently there is no way to send backup directly to tape. Please review the above posts for additional information.

Thanks

andrii.shagov
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 06, 2019 4:34 pm
Full Name: Andrii Shagov
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by andrii.shagov »

Dear support,

Looks like it's been almost 5 years since this feature was requested, and is still highly demanded. Do we still have no news/hightlights/anything that can make me believe I did a right thing chosing Veeam?

Regards,
Andrii Shagov

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26366
Liked: 4114 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

Hi, Andrii. Unfortunately, this capability is not planned for delivery in the foreseeable future, as our focus here at Veeam is D2D backups. Thanks!

Poweruser
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Jul 25, 2018 4:12 pm
Full Name: Poweruser
Contact:

Re: Backup Directly to Tape

Post by Poweruser »

It would be easy to realize this function.
especially if you dont have a NAS in your system and just one server only.
thats the usual way to backup to tape only.
at least veeam could add a quick hack by allowing to keep 0 (zero) instead of 1 (one) last backup in local repository. so we would waste much space temporary but just per backup.
this should be realized very fast without much work for veeam.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests