Backup job not using full capacity of tape

Discussions specific to tape backups

Backup job not using full capacity of tape

Veeam Logoby DavidReimers » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:48 am

Have started doing Veeam backups-to-tape jobs for the first time (previously I've only done files-to-tape jobs).

LTO7 drive - 5.5TB native capacity. Backing up 4.8TB of data (VBK files only).
So this should easily fit on a single tape.

Each job has spanned two tapes, but reporting say 3.6TB or 4.1TB used on each tape.
Do I have a Veeam setting wrong somewhere?
DavidReimers
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:39 am
Full Name: David Reimers

Re: Backup job not using full capacity of tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:55 pm

Hello DavidReimers.

Most likely end on media was reported by tape device to Veeam B&R. Please check with support team, as log investigation is required to identify the root case. Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7609
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup job not using full capacity of tape

Veeam Logoby DavidReimers » Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:22 am

Turns out this was because I had not set the tapes to eject, so it was defaulting to spanning tapes.
DavidReimers
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:39 am
Full Name: David Reimers


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests