Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
DavidReimers
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 20, 2010 4:39 am
Full Name: David Reimers
Contact:

Backup job not using full capacity of tape

Post by DavidReimers » Feb 28, 2018 3:48 am

Have started doing Veeam backups-to-tape jobs for the first time (previously I've only done files-to-tape jobs).

LTO7 drive - 5.5TB native capacity. Backing up 4.8TB of data (VBK files only).
So this should easily fit on a single tape.

Each job has spanned two tapes, but reporting say 3.6TB or 4.1TB used on each tape.
Do I have a Veeam setting wrong somewhere?

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8756
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup job not using full capacity of tape

Post by Dima P. » Mar 01, 2018 1:55 pm

Hello DavidReimers.

Most likely end on media was reported by tape device to Veeam B&R. Please check with support team, as log investigation is required to identify the root case. Thank you.

DavidReimers
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 20, 2010 4:39 am
Full Name: David Reimers
Contact:

Re: Backup job not using full capacity of tape

Post by DavidReimers » Mar 02, 2018 5:22 am

Turns out this was because I had not set the tapes to eject, so it was defaulting to spanning tapes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests