Backup replica to tape possible?

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup replica to tape possible?

Veeam Logoby compello » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:40 pm

Hi!

Quick question:

We want to replicate backups from our datacenter (which is remote) to our office but we also need backups on tapes to satisfy are long term backup requirements. Is it possible to have the tape library in our office and make the tape backups from the replica's so that we don't have to drive to the other side of town to change tapes every time?

Thanks,
Vincent
compello
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Backup replica to tape possible?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:46 pm

In this case, you can use files to tape job, selecting replicated backup files as a source for it. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup replica to tape possible?

Veeam Logoby vtimmermans » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:53 pm

All right.

If you do that, what would a restore of a VM or a Windows guest file from tape look like?
vtimmermans
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Backup replica to tape possible?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:28 pm

You will restore corresponding backup file first and, then, initiate VM restore. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests