Backup to Tape, decompress?

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby b.vanhaastrecht » Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:22 pm

Hi,

We are implementing VTL from a DXi deduplication unit. Compared to CIFS and NFS, it really flies and no dedupe unfriendly transform!

In order to get maximum deduplication from the DXi, I would like to know if Veeam decompresses and re-hydrate its back-upped data when writing to tape.

kind Regards,
Bastiaan
========================================
Veeam ProPartner and Cloud Connect Provider
b.vanhaastrecht
Service Provider
 
Posts: 344
Liked: 68 times
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:46 am
Location: The Netherlands
Full Name: Bastiaan van Haastrecht

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:02 pm

Backup files are copied to tapes as is, however you can set backup jobs to decompress data before writing backup files into repository that is used as a source for the tape jobs.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15275
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby b.vanhaastrecht » Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:08 pm

Yes off course, but that would mean more local expensive storage needed. Any change in behavior with v8? Otherwise this feature, decompress before storing to VTL tape (on dedupe unit) would sound like a nice feature enhancement.
========================================
Veeam ProPartner and Cloud Connect Provider
b.vanhaastrecht
Service Provider
 
Posts: 344
Liked: 68 times
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:46 am
Location: The Netherlands
Full Name: Bastiaan van Haastrecht

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:25 pm

No changes regarding that in v8, but thanks for the feedback.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15275
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby mc2 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:20 pm

Just wondering if this functionality will be available in 9.5?

We had been using Windows dedupe for the initial backup target but found that was a bit of a struggle to manage so we now use veeam's native compression dedupe. We use a Quadstor VTL appliance which uses dedupe as a monthly "Offline" copy. Problem is the backup copy is hitting this compressed/deduped so we are struggling to get decent dedupe ratios.

6 copies of very similar data and we are only getting 1.8:1. I suspect if the data was not compressed we would get 4:1 or higher
mc2
Service Provider
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:13 am
Full Name: Michael Custance

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:22 pm

mc2,

To clarify, you would like to decompress the existing backup file prior placing in to tape?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6673
Liked: 477 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby mc2 » Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:57 pm

sorry for the very delayed response.

Yes we would like the compressed backup to be decompressed when being written to tape

In our case a VTL which is handling the compression/deduplication
mc2
Service Provider
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:13 am
Full Name: Michael Custance

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:05 pm

The functionality is not included in 9.5 version.

What I'd suggest is to turn off compression on source backup job, archive backups to tapes, using VTL compression and compare the data reduction ratios.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13704
Liked: 1020 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Tape, decompress?

Veeam Logoby shivaram.u » Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:09 pm 1 person likes this post

mc2 wrote:Just wondering if this functionality will be available in 9.5?

We had been using Windows dedupe for the initial backup target but found that was a bit of a struggle to manage so we now use veeam's native compression dedupe. We use a Quadstor VTL appliance which uses dedupe as a monthly "Offline" copy. Problem is the backup copy is hitting this compressed/deduped so we are struggling to get decent dedupe ratios.

6 copies of very similar data and we are only getting 1.8:1. I suspect if the data was not compressed we would get 4:1 or higher


From quadstor here. Do you see any improvement in the ratios by turning off compression for the source backups ?

For effective dedupe you would need compression to be turned off at the source. The ratios indicates very little deduplication. Also the VTL by default uses a 256k block size for hash computation which is on the higher side for VM backups and requires some fine tuning. You could contact me off list or contact us (the email id is on the website) and we can check if anything needs to be done on the VTL side

-Thanks
shivaram.u
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:48 pm
Full Name: Shivaram


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest