Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 232
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by EBoucq » Feb 04, 2016 7:43 am

Hi,

In the middle of a backup to tape, the job failed...Is Veeam going to automatically reuse the tapes of this failed backup since there's nothing we can do with those tapes or do I have to set them as free manually ?

Thank you.
Eric

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7059
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by Shestakov » Feb 04, 2016 1:40 pm

Hi Eric,
It will be reused in accordance with the retention policy. Do you have any successful backups on that tape?
Thanks!

EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 232
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Re: Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by EBoucq » Feb 04, 2016 1:50 pm

Hi Nikita,

To be more specific: I ran a backup to tape that failed. 2 tapes were used during that process.
- one already had part of a backup on it and is now full with half of the tape filled with the failed backup --> Is that tape unusable for now ?
- one was new --> will Veeam use that one automatically for another backup or do I have to mark it as free manually ?

Thank you.
Eric

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7059
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by Shestakov » Feb 04, 2016 3:59 pm

Thanks for the clarification.
If the job failed not because of the tape invalidity, the next job run will start writing on it.
And you don`t need to free it up. Successfully written files can be restored with no issues as well.
Thanks!

EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 232
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Re: Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by EBoucq » Feb 04, 2016 4:08 pm

To be sure I understood well when you write "next job run will start writing on it": I don't want Veeam to erase the beginning of the tape where a previous backup is stored.
Next, you say "you don't need to free it up": but the failed job wrote on a tape that now says "expires in 2/3/2018"..I don't feel like Veeam is going to use that tape anytime soon :-)

Thanks,
Eric

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7059
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by Shestakov » Feb 04, 2016 4:47 pm

EBoucq wrote: I don't want Veeam to erase the beginning of the tape where a previous backup is stored.
Correct. Veeam will not erase it.
EBoucq wrote:Next, you say "you don't need to free it up": but the failed job wrote on a tape that now says "expires in 2/3/2018"..I don't feel like Veeam is going to use that tape anytime soon
Is that in accordance with the retention policy on the tapes?
If you want it to be rewritten just like other tapes, mark it as free.

EBoucq
Expert
Posts: 232
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq
Contact:

Re: Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by EBoucq » Feb 04, 2016 4:54 pm

Thanks !

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7059
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup to tape fails...tapes reuse ?

Post by Shestakov » Feb 04, 2016 5:44 pm

You are welcome, Eric.
Once you have a question, don`t hesitate asking!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests