Backup to Tape: Imported Backups

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup to Tape: Imported Backups

Veeam Logoby dropped91 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:26 pm

Hi,

in our Headquarters I have a repository called "Incoming_from_branch_offices".
Our branch offices has a Backup Copy Job configured to copy the Backups to the repoistory "Incoming_from_branch_offices" in our Headquarters.

In our Headquarters the Backups appears in the veeam B&R Console under Backups -> Disk (imported).
Now I want to configure a Backup to Tape Job.
At source I configure the "Incoming_from_branch_offices" Repository.
It seems that Veeam not recognize that theire are valid backups inside because the backuo to tape job show 0KB full and 0KB incremental under "Backup Files" while editing the Job.
As soon as I start the Job it will fail with the error message:
No new files to backup per job settings

It is possible to use impoted Backups for a Backup to Tape Job?

Veeam Version: 9.5 Update 1


dropped
dropped91
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:30 pm

Re: Backup to Tape: Imported Backups

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:09 pm

Have you tried to use files to tape job for that purpose?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Tape: Imported Backups

Veeam Logoby dropped91 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:16 pm

Hi,

files to tape is not an option because with this option I can't do Resotre guest files and so on.
With files to tape it's only possible to restore the whole vbk to any destination.

Is there any way?
dropped91
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:30 pm

Re: Backup to Tape: Imported Backups

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:55 pm

files to tape is not an option because with this option I can't do Resotre guest files and so on.

Neither can you do this with backup to tape job, there is no direct file restore option (only direct VM restore one). So, in order to restore particular guest OS file, a whole backup file needs to be restored first. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests