Backup to tape issue with repository

Discussions specific to tape backups

Backup to tape issue with repository

Veeam Logoby KiwiJJ » Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:55 pm

Hi,
We have Veeam servers located in Auckland and Wellington. The tape is connected to the Wellington Veeam server. Auckland backups replicate at the SAN level down to Wellington.

The repository that receives the Auckland backups has been added to the Tape job but it is not backing them up.

How can I get this to work ?

thanks,

John
KiwiJJ
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Full Name: John Jones

Re: Backup to tape issue with repository

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:35 am

Hello John,

Please check if replicated backup files are displayed under Imported node on your secondary Veeam B&R server? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7607
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to tape issue with repository

Veeam Logoby KiwiJJ » Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:08 pm

Hi Dmitry,
No they are not displayed under imported node. The files replicate from the Auckland to Wellington SAN. The location on the Wellington SAN has been added to B&R as a repository and then this repository has been added to the Tape backup job. Are you saying that I have to import the files from the SAN Repository into "Disk (imported)" under Backups ? Would this have to be done daily ?

thanks,

John
KiwiJJ
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Full Name: John Jones

Re: Backup to tape issue with repository

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:43 am

John,

Tape job skips the imported backups, that's why I was asking about imported node. How replicated backups files are displayed in the secondary Veeam B&R server? Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7607
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to tape issue with repository

Veeam Logoby KiwiJJ » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:53 pm

Hi Dmitry,
What if I setup a job on the Wellington server to backup using the Auckland repository to the Auckland SAN which would then replicate at the SAN level down to Wellington and added that repository to the tape backup job would that then pick up the data ?

thanks,

John
KiwiJJ
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Full Name: John Jones

Re: Backup to tape issue with repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 16, 2018 6:08 pm

Not sure whether I totally follow you on your deployment model, but what Dmitry is saying here is that you have to:

- either create dummy backup jobs, map them to replicated backups and only then select the backups jobs as source for tape jobs
- or back those files up, using files to tape jobs instead

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14581
Liked: 1092 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests