Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:52 am

Hi guys

A few days ago i changed the backup solution at a customer site completely to Veeam Backup & Replication. Since they had Veeam B&R for Backup to Disk and Symantec Backup Exec for Backup to Tape, i combined both with Veeam B&R. First there is a backup to disk job (reverse incremental) followed by a backup to tape job (always the last backup state, which means the "calculated" full backup of reverse incremental backup to disk job).

Things work well except backup to tape job. Let me explain that.

The customer has a LTO-6 tape drive connected to the backup server and LTO-6 tapes. The tapes where used by Backup Exec before and should now be used by Veeam B&R tape job.

Everytime the backup to tape job starts, it is waiting. A tape is loaded, but Veeam B&R puts it in the "Unrecognized" media pool and so the backup to tape job wont start. I have to right click the loaded tape and mark it as "free", then the backup to tape job starts immediatly.

I already search the forum here and found the thread tape-f29/veeam-tape-inventory-t17654.html. But with the information given there i'm not sure how to fix the problem, since i'm not so aware of Powershell.

What i already tried at the customer site is that:
- put a tape in the drive
- start manual inventory of loaded tape
- give a name to this tape (for example "Monday 1" etc.)
- mark the tape as free
- move the tape to the custom media pool

With this i think the tapes should be now known by Veeam B&R. But as it looks like it doesn't. It doesn't matter which tape i take, Veeam recognizes it as "Unrecognized" and do nothing until i mark it manually as free.

I did not delete the used tapes. I just inventoried, marked it as free and moved it to the customer media pool manually. But nothing helped.

Can i automated this? When a script is used, do i have to setup the windows scheduler for this script or can i do that in Veeam B&R (something like "start this script before that job")?

Thank you very much for your tips and help.
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 116
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:38 pm

Hey Karl,
A tape is loaded, but Veeam B&R puts it in the "Unrecognized" media pool and so the backup to tape job wont start.

Is it possible to mark as free all loaded media before tape jobs kicks in? Since these tape were previously in use by other software Veeam B&R won’t erase them automatically due the data that might remain on the media.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Thu Nov 19, 2015 3:52 pm

Hey Dima,

Thanks for the reply.

I marked them already as free as mentioned in my post:

kawiMTF wrote:What i already tried at the customer site is that:
- put a tape in the drive
- start manual inventory of loaded tape
- give a name to this tape (for example "Monday 1" etc.)
- mark the tape as free
- move the tape to the custom media pool


This was before the backup job started the first time. my thoughts were that i put every tape in the drive, make an inventory, mark it as free (since they were used by BE before) and put them in the appropriate media pool. But it didn't work as i expected.

At the moment, every time the customer changes the tape, i have to go to the Veeam B&R gui and mark the loaded tape as free.
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 116
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:11 pm 1 person likes this post

If marking tapes belonging to Unrecognized media pool works for you, you can stick to this script that I've written previously; should automate the procedure that you're doing manually. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:25 am

Sorry, missed the line. I think that’s might happen due the lack of barcode reader – try the proposed scripting workaround please and let us know if it helps.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:44 pm

Hi Eremin, Dima

Thanks for the tips. Just one question. Where should i put the script?

At the moment the tape job is fired right after the backup to disk job finishes. So the script can be executed right before the tape job, within the job options itself (needs to be cmd / bat script) or i have to do something with windows task scheduler. And this should be executed before the backup to disk job, because i don't know when the customer puts in a tape.

I'll keep you updated. Perhaps we have to erase all the tapes as a last resort.
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 116
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Nov 23, 2015 9:29 am

The script can be executed either within existing job or via Task Scheduler.

Since the script has to be run before a backup to tape job starts, the best place to set it up seems to be a source backup job post-activity. This way, once a backup job is finished, a script will take place, taking care about mediums, after that, a backup to tape job will be started.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:50 am

Hi guys

I'm back with an update.

I'm not the PowerShell Pro, so i wasn't able to create a script wich actually worked.

In other forum posts i read that the only real solution is to erase the tapes, if they were used by any other backup software before (e.g. Backup Exec) and than reuse it normal in Veeam. The tapes should be erased with tape drive manufacturers native tape tools (like HP Library & Tape Tools if your tape drive is a HP branded device) to make sure that there are no issues with different block sizes used in other backup software and in Veeam.
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 116
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:40 am

In other forum posts i read that the only real solution is to erase the tapes, if they were used by any other backup software before (e.g. Backup Exec) and than reuse it normal in Veeam.

In some corner cases, tapes must be erased via manufacturer tools. Though, in overwhelming majority of case quick erase executed by VB&R should be enough for making tapes usable in VB&R. Or that doesn't help in your case?

I'm not the PowerShell Pro, so i wasn't able to create a script wich actually worked.

The necessary script has been referenced above, so, you don't need to write anything on your own. Or you have problems setting it up as a pre/post-job activity?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:58 pm

Hello

I don't like to fire up old threads. But in my case i'm now at the same position as when i started the thread.

I did the work and deleted all tapes of the customer with the HP Library & Tape tools. After that they were accepted by Veeam, and used every day. The tape job went fine.

Now the tape set (20 tapes) is used, and the tape retention starts from the first tape. The customer uses the same tapes in a weekly manner (tapes for weekdays and fridays), always five tapes per week.

Now Veeam won't accept these tape any more. Every day i have to look at the media pools if there is a tape in "Unrecognized" and i have to manually mark this tape as free. Then the job, which is actually waiting for tape will start immediately.

I will try it again with some powershell scripting. It should be enough just to make an inventory of the tape drive and move the inserted tape to free media pool.

I'll keep you updated.

Cheers!
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 116
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby mfo » Fri Feb 19, 2016 8:58 am

I have exactly the same issue.

Veeam does not recognize that a certain tape is in the library. They are discovered by name and are in the right media pool, but when ever my backup job requests a new certain tape, it waits forever.
The tape has the "Expired" status, but is not used until I explicitly mark it as "Free". Then it is used immediately.

The tapes have never be used outside of Veeam.
mfo
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:11 pm
Full Name: Christoph Weber

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:32 am

I think you, guys, are talking about different issues:

1) VB&R doesn't recognize previously used tape and places it into Unrecognized Media Pool.
2) VB&R doesn't see that a given media has expired already.

Am I right in assuming that both of you are running the latest product version? If so, kindly, open tickets with our support team and post their numbers here, so that, we can reach our QA team and ask for assistance.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby mfo » Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:55 pm

Support Case Number: 01704176
mfo
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:11 pm
Full Name: Christoph Weber

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby Funki » Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:45 pm

mfo wrote:I have exactly the same issue.

Veeam does not recognize that a certain tape is in the library. They are discovered by name and are in the right media pool, but when ever my backup job requests a new certain tape, it waits forever.
The tape has the "Expired" status, but is not used until I explicitly mark it as "Free". Then it is used immediately.

The tapes have never be used outside of Veeam.



had exactly this Problem after update to v9. My Solution was to delete the current Tape Job and Setup a new one (same settings). Error was solved.
Clone from the current Job had also the same Error.
Funki
Service Provider
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:22 am
Full Name: Alex

Re: Backup to Tape - Job is waiting for Tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:00 pm

Thank you for sharing the found workaround, even though the fact that job re-creation allowed a backup server to recognize free tapes again looks a bit strange. Anyway, glad to hear that you're up and running now. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests