Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
bhagen
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 23, 2017 10:26 pm
Contact:

"Backups > Tape node" not available

Post by bhagen » May 02, 2018 5:08 pm

I need to restore files from a file-to-tape job that I did 2 months ago. The veeam user guide says:

Step 1. Launch Full VM Restore Wizard
To run the Full VM Restore wizard, do one of the following:
Open the Home view, expand the Backups > Tape node. Choose and expand the tape backup you need. Select the necessary VMs in the tape backup and click Restore Entire VM on the ribbon.
Open the Home view, expand the Backups > Tape node. Choose and expand the tape backup you need. Right-click the necessary VMs in the tape backup and choose Restore entire VM.

But...in my Home view, under the backups node, I only see disk, disk (copy), and disk (imported). No Tape node.

Why is this missing, and how do I get it back?

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8956
Liked: 664 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: "Backups > Tape node" not available

Post by Dima P. » May 02, 2018 5:22 pm

Hi bhagen.

To restore specific files from tape you should use Files node. Check this Help Center article: Restoring Files from Tape

Tape node might be hidden:

Image

marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: "Backups > Tape node" not available

Post by marieelieg » Dec 05, 2018 3:15 pm

Hello,

I have the same issue. The "Tape" node is not showing under HOME > Backups.
I want to restore an entire VM from my tape backup.

I inserted the tapes in the tape library. I run inventory AND catalog for the tapes. Still the tape node is not visible.

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15420
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: "Backups > Tape node" not available

Post by v.Eremin » Dec 05, 2018 3:34 pm

What type of tape job did you use? Files to tape or Backups to tape one? In the former case you need to restore backup to repository first, using Files node. Thanks!

marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: "Backups > Tape node" not available

Post by marieelieg » Dec 05, 2018 3:40 pm

Ahhhh. Yes filea to tape. OK I will try it and let you all know.

Thanks!!

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15420
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: "Backups > Tape node" not available

Post by v.Eremin » Dec 05, 2018 4:00 pm

Then, go to files node, locate necessary backup file there, restore it to a backup repository, import the restored backup to a backup console and finally perform whatever restore procedure you want to. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests