Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 107
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Bottleneck source

Post by marieelieg » Jul 27, 2017 12:13 pm

Hello everyone,

If a backup to tape job shows: Bottleneck Source, what exactly are the steps needed to fix this?
Should I increase the memory of the server (RAM), increase the network? ... What exactly should be done?

Thank you all very much and have a great day!

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1263
Liked: 135 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Bottleneck source

Post by DGrinev » Jul 27, 2017 5:22 pm

Hi,

1. Are you referring to backup or file to tape job?
2. Which type of backup chain is the source for the tape job (Forever Forward Incremental or Forward Incremental)?
3. What kind of storage is used for the repository?
4. Increasing network capacity would help only in case the bottleneck is the network.

Thanks!

marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 107
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: Bottleneck source

Post by marieelieg » Jul 27, 2017 5:30 pm

Hi DGrinev, to answer you questions:

1. File to tape job.
2. The disk repository is "D:\Backup" and the file to tape job is taking the whole "D:\Backup" folder.
3. The disk storage is local on the veeam server.

Thank you!

marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 107
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: Bottleneck source

Post by marieelieg » Jul 27, 2017 5:30 pm

Also the tape server is the veeam server itself.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1263
Liked: 135 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Bottleneck source

Post by DGrinev » Jul 28, 2017 2:10 pm

You should add more RAM and CPU resources, since you are using all-in-one server and the bottleneck is source.
Btw the server is Physical or Virtual? Thanks!

marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 107
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: Bottleneck source

Post by marieelieg » Aug 03, 2017 7:45 am

I see OK.
The Veeam server is physical.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests