Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Everything about backing up to tape

Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby jarzi » Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:51 am

I have a tape library for backup copy jobs. One tape which is a member of media pool for full backups a is giving errors and I wish to replace it.

How does one go about doing it? Can I just mark it as free, remove it from the library and the next time the job runs it recreates the tape?

Regards

Jarzi
jarzi
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:57 pm
Full Name: Jarno Arajärvi

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:04 pm

Does it contain any data that you want to preserve?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby jarzi » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:47 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Does it contain any data that you want to preserve?


Tape pool has the same retention time as normal backups, so there isn't anything important in there.
jarzi
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:57 pm
Full Name: Jarno Arajärvi

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:56 pm

Then, the described action course should work just fine.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest