Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Discussions specific to tape backups

Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby jarzi » Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:51 am

I have a tape library for backup copy jobs. One tape which is a member of media pool for full backups a is giving errors and I wish to replace it.

How does one go about doing it? Can I just mark it as free, remove it from the library and the next time the job runs it recreates the tape?

Regards

Jarzi
jarzi
Service Provider
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:57 pm
Full Name: Jarno Arajärvi

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:04 pm

Does it contain any data that you want to preserve?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14812
Liked: 1113 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby jarzi » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:47 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Does it contain any data that you want to preserve?


Tape pool has the same retention time as normal backups, so there isn't anything important in there.
jarzi
Service Provider
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:57 pm
Full Name: Jarno Arajärvi

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:56 pm

Then, the described action course should work just fine.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14812
Liked: 1113 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests