Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
jarzi
Service Provider
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 29, 2016 1:57 pm
Full Name: Jarno Arajärvi
Contact:

Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Post by jarzi » Sep 04, 2017 6:51 am

I have a tape library for backup copy jobs. One tape which is a member of media pool for full backups a is giving errors and I wish to replace it.

How does one go about doing it? Can I just mark it as free, remove it from the library and the next time the job runs it recreates the tape?

Regards

Jarzi

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16879
Liked: 1430 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Post by veremin » Sep 04, 2017 1:04 pm

Does it contain any data that you want to preserve?

jarzi
Service Provider
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 29, 2016 1:57 pm
Full Name: Jarno Arajärvi
Contact:

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Post by jarzi » Sep 04, 2017 2:47 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Does it contain any data that you want to preserve?
Tape pool has the same retention time as normal backups, so there isn't anything important in there.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16879
Liked: 1430 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Broken tape - how to rebuild it ?

Post by veremin » Sep 04, 2017 2:56 pm

Then, the described action course should work just fine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests