Cannot find TAPE

Everything about backing up to tape

Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby sigmaos » Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:27 am

Hi,

i've a veeam v7 (last patch) and i've installed a IBM TS3100 library.
After have installed IBM drivers ("non_exclusive" mode), in the Windows device manager, there are two drives IBM and the Media changer. No problem.

With Veeam, the two drives appear in GUI, but no TAPE...
There are many tape in drives (not empty).

With the soft "diagnostic tool IBM", i tested two drives (interface Windows<->TS3100) and no problem...

Any idea ? :?

Thks !
sigmaos
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:23 pm

Re: Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:13 am

Can you try to inventory library and see whether it makes any difference? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby sigmaos » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:18 am

v.Eremin wrote:Can you try to inventory library and see whether it makes any difference? Thanks.


i've already try to inventory the library, many times.
Always the same thing, no data and/or Tape ... But there is no error at the end of inventory.

Thks.
sigmaos
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:23 pm

Re: Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:27 am

Are there any 3-party tape software installed or remnants of those? Are there any tape partitions configured? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby sigmaos » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:32 am

v.Eremin wrote:Are there any 3-party tape software installed or remnants of those?


No, just veeam.

v.Eremin wrote: Are there any tape partitions configured? Thanks.


"Tape partitions" ? What is this ?
There are One IBM TS3100 with two drives.

Thks;
sigmaos
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:23 pm

Re: Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:43 am

Tape partitioning is library functionality allowing you to split a library into different "partitions", which might be then presented as separate devices to backup software. But it doesn't matter, since you don't have any of those configured in your environment.

Anyway, we haven't seen similar problems before, so, please open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly. Once a case is opened, kindly, provide its number here.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby sigmaos » Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:26 am 1 person likes this post

It's ok !
THe problem was about the driver library... TS3100 need Windows driver WHQL certified.... :x And no the standard drivers.

Anyway, it works. :)

Thks.
sigmaos
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:23 pm

Re: Cannot find TAPE

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:53 am

The most frequent cause of tape issues that we've seen so far is the usage of improper tape drivers, indeed. But I'm glad to hear that you've nailed it. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests