Change of library

Everything about backing up to tape

Change of library

Veeam Logoby futureweb » Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:17 pm

Hi,

I already have a case but still like to ask
Case 01023964

Library: MSL2024 partitioned in 2 libraries.
We used one of it for backups, the 2nd one wasn't used.

After a reboot, suddenly the library we used for veeam shows offline and a new library appeared.

According to my case, partitoned library is not supported.
Ok, so we wil split the libary to 2 servers so veeam won't see it.
Not a brilliant solution as just beeing able to disable it in veeam, but ok.

BUT:
I got told it is not possible to move a media pool from one library to another one.
I mean a serious question, what if the tape is exchanged because of an error, what if you upgrade from a 24 to 48 library.

You have to redo the hole tape setup, and the old setup has to be manually managed?
I have to admit we are in evaluation and where happy about Veeam and also the tape support, but this seems like a killer for me.

So probably I understand something wrong, but the simple question, you upgrade your library, then what, what would the correct way to go be,
to be able to use all your backups on tapes in a normal manner without the need to manage everything manually.

Or like in our case, a reboot shows a different library and the original one offline.

We are a small company, but after one year, we still manage 100-150 tapes,

Thanks
Patrick
futureweb
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:15 am
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Change of library

Veeam Logoby futureweb » Tue Sep 15, 2015 3:59 pm

As an update what we figured out, why it happened:

HP gives the library a name, which = serial.
Once partitioned, it will give it the name serial_ll0 and serial_ll1
But this change only happens after a reboot.

So it seems, Veeam is bound to this library name.
So I understand why it happened in first place, but not what you do when:
- library is exchanged due to an error and serial is changed, thus the library name changes.
- you change the library alltogether.

No way to "virtually" bind that library. I tried to investigate, if I could give the library a "persistent name" on HP's side, but didn't find anything yet.

Thanks
Patrick
futureweb
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:15 am
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Change of library

Veeam Logoby futureweb » Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:11 pm

As reply to my own posting, found this thread that unfortunate answers my question as - it's not possible, that's really bad news.
tape-f29/moving-tape-media-from-pool-associated-replaced-tape-drive-t21434.html

Hopefully V9 adresses this issue with the multiple library support.
futureweb
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:15 am
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Change of library

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:13 pm

Version 9 will bring new global media pool functionality. In other words, media pool will no longer be tied to a specific library. So, that will address the given issue. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Change of library

Veeam Logoby futureweb » Tue Sep 15, 2015 8:08 pm

Ok, thats great news.
futureweb
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:15 am
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Change of library

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:54 am

You're welcome. Stay tuned for other announcements, as more are coming. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests