Dell TL2000 Setup

Everything about backing up to tape

Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:29 pm

I have not done a VBR setup with a tape drive, ever! I have always used USB tape drives that rotate offsite, but anyways I am trying to connect my VBR update 2 to my Dell TL2000. My VBR server is a PowerEdge r730xd running Windows 2012 R2 using a 12Gbps SAS card to connect to the tape drive. I installed This Driver and rebooted. I went into VBR and added the server as a tape library but nothing else came up afterwards. How can I get Veeam to see the tape drive?

Thanks for any help!

Case ID: 01061587
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:05 pm

Ok I have moved on a step from where I was. It now shows the Library but Drives and Media are all empty. The tape drive is fully populated but Veeam doesn't seem to see it. I should clarify that when I try to add a Media Pool there are no tapes listed as available.

Thanks!
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:57 pm

Hey Ryan,
It now shows the Library but Drives and Media are all empty. The tape drive is fully populated but Veeam doesn't seem to see it.

What happens if you start to import tapes from the library?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:03 pm

Thanks for the reply, I should have updated the post but it was late and I forgot. I was able to get the tapes and everything showing in Veeam. I still have the case open because now I need to verify my configuration. I have 2 VBR servers and the one not connected to the Tape drive does a backup copy to the tape drive VBR server. If I do file to tape is that getting me the same restore capability as backup job to tape?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:09 pm

Restore capabilities are the same but backup logic is completely different :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:22 pm

Ok what is Veeams stance on best practice? Should I try and setup a Backup to Tape job from the other VBR server and have them go across the network or should I just run them all locally on that tape connected VBR server and have the local backups do backup to tape and the copy backups do file to tape?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:42 pm

Backup to tape is better as its fully automated and can split the forever incremental backup chain with synthesized full backup (made from incremental restore point on disk), start after the source backup or as a new backup file appear and other. File to tape is lightweight in terms of logic it operates on a file basis, for instance incremental run may pick up the changed full backup (if transform happens) which can seriously load the production network.

It’s hard to say - I’d better play with both solutions and decide what suites you (or your infrastructure) the most :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:54 pm

That leads into another question that I have with Tape, if I am using forever forward incremental but I need a full backup copied to tape on Sunday evening, do I need a full backup job to do that or will the tape job create the full before writing to it? Can I use that theory with a file to tape job?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:10 pm

You just set virtual full backup schedule to run on Sunday. Backup to tape job starts, checks if the full backup for selected day available – in case not it creates it from the incremental restore point and fire it to the tape. Some pictures and logic better explained here
Can I use that theory with a file to tape job?

Nope. It works only for backup to tape and forever incremental backup job. For file to tape synthetic/active full should be used.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:15 pm

Nope. It works only for backup to tape and forever incremental backup job. For file to tape synthetic/active full should be used.


So I would schedule the backup copy job to run at 1300 and create a full, then schedule the file to tape job for sometime after that?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:35 pm

Should work also.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:21 pm

So I am trying to restore a file from a tape job I ran last night. When I do a restore files from tape it only lets me select the .vbk file....I feel like I am missing something on the tape side of the world. Can I restore files from tape?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:05 pm

Are looking for “file from VM from tape recovery”?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:20 pm

Yes, I would need to restore a file (.docx, xlsx, pdf, etc) but its on a tape backup. Is that a two step process that I have to restore the whole backup file then try a file restore?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Dell TL2000 Setup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:23 pm

Sorry Ryan - you have to restore the backup to temporary storage first – file level recovery from tape is not supported (however, we have this feature request on track)
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests