Does changing drive block size impact reading existing tapes

Everything about backing up to tape

Does changing drive block size impact reading existing tapes

Veeam Logoby skrause » Wed Jun 29, 2016 5:12 pm

I have read a few posts on here about people resolving performance issues with Backups to Tape jobs where the source files are not local to the tape server by lowering the block size on the drives.

Before I do this, I want to make sure that changing the block size won't impact the ability of the drives to read existing backups from tape in the event that I need to restore.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 296
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Does changing drive block size impact reading existing t

Veeam Logoby rreed » Wed Jun 29, 2016 9:30 pm

You might if you're running v9. There's a bug wherein it can bomb out if drive is set for x but tapes are set for xx block size (or even fresh new blank tapes). Contact support for a hotfix, it worked in our case.
VMware 6
Veeam B&R v9
Dell DR4100's
EMC DD2200's
EMC DD620's
Dell TL2000 via PE430 (SAS)
rreed
Expert
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:06 pm

Re: Does changing drive block size impact reading existing t

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:28 am

Generally speaking, as long as tape drive supports both block sizes (previous, current) there should not be any issues. However, there used to be several known problems with block size functionality in version 9 and version 9 Update 1.

Up to that moment we've created several hot fixes addressing all of them. So, should you come across any issues, don't hesitate to request a hot fix through support ticket.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests