Drive Cleaning?

Everything about backing up to tape

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Mapleuser » Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:21 am

I have deployed Veeam to several of my company's branch office and they don't usually have an IT staff.
Without a simple cleaning operation like Backup Exec's right click on drive and clean, I really can't perform the cleaning remotely.
Do I really want to guide a non-IT staff over the phone to load tapes and go through all the hardware steps to clean?
And repeat this for every site? I guess not

Looking at this thread, nothing being done after 3 years!
Seems that Veeam is really lacking in many areas and I'm going to re-consider going back to Backup Exec which seems to be a more well-rounded backup solution
Mapleuser
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:19 am

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:00 am

Looking at this thread, nothing being done after 3 years!

Actually, this feature has been given a high priority already and is scheduled to be released in one of the next product releases; so, stay tuned. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:42 am

Hopefully in the next 9.0 Update!

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:59 am

It's a feature rather than a product enhancements. Thus, don't expect to see it the product update. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Moebius » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:20 am

I have two IBM tape libraries (TS3100 and TS3200) that I set to autoclean. Maybe I've just been lucky so far, but they seem to be able to clean the drives when needed without disrupting the ongoing tape jobs. I guess they wait for the current tape to be ejected, flag the drive as busy, clean the drive and then resume the tape job. It's a feature of the IBM libraries maybe?
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby rreed » Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:51 pm

^This is what our Dell TL2000 (IBM-based drives) does. We may/may not get the "drive needs cleaning" email from Veeam, but next time the drives are quiet it cleans itself and goes on.

Still, this (and verify) does need to be added asap please. :wink:
VMware 6
Veeam B&R v9
Dell DR4100's
EMC DD2200's
EMC DD620's
Dell TL2000 via PE430 (SAS)
rreed
Expert
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:06 pm

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby mike.r » Mon Jul 11, 2016 10:38 am

This is a feature every tape library has.
The market for tape libraries is small, the (unofficial) list of libraries compatible with veeam is even less.
Also most of them are technicaly identical.
And yes: Veeam get the message "drive needs cleaning" from library.
The problem from the first day on is, that Veeam can not PAUSE a tape job, put in a cleaning tape,
wait until cleaning job is done and CONTINUE the tape job with next tape.

The problem is clear, the solution is clear and Veeam got it on a "high priority list".
So, just do it !!!
mike.r
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 32
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:00 am

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby DDIT » Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:17 am

Bump.

With the imminent release of 9.5 can we expect any enhancements to the way Veeam handles a multi-tape job if the drive requests cleaning part way through?

Like others here, I have a SuperLoader 3 and also experiencing issues when multi-tape jobs fail after many hours as the AutoClean function has kicked in during a tape swap and Veeam has failed the job with a timeout error.
DDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:14 am

With the imminent release of 9.5 can we expect any enhancements to the way Veeam handles a multi-tape job if the drive requests cleaning part way through?

Yep, you can. According to the plan, drive cleaning option will be delivered as a part of 9.5 release. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:00 pm

Has this really been implemented in VBR 9.5 ?

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Nov 06, 2016 9:43 pm

Yes, the feature will be available in v 9.5
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:19 am

Interesting!
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:22 pm

Hey folks. The wait is over - new 9.5 is out and this option is available in tape library properties. Just do not forget to disable the cleaning in native tools if you are going to use tape cleaning within Veeam B&R.

More information regarding new features - Whats new in 9.5
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby hukay » Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:27 pm

Would we have to an option to tell Veeam that such and such is cleaning tape?
hukay
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 8:54 pm
Full Name: SanketB

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:59 pm

hukay,

Load it to the driver. Such tape should be recognized as cleaning during inventory operation.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

PreviousNext

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JasonBailey and 8 guests