Duplicate tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby rodrigo.catarino » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:15 am

Hi all,

Is there a way to duplicate a tape used in veeam backups?
We are currently using Veeam 9.5 and the library is a IBM TS3200 with two drives.
Each drive is being used in two diferent systems, backups of Windows machines and backups of AS400 machines.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Rodrigo Catarino
rodrigo.catarino
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:07 am
Full Name: Rodrigo Catarino

Re: Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:14 am

Hi Rodrigo,
Do you mean copying all data from one tape to another or writing same data from disks on 2 tapes?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5141
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby rodrigo.catarino » Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:30 am

Hi Shestakov,

Lets say that I have a tape with backup from last month and I need to duplicate the information from that tape to another tape for archiving purposes.

Best regards,
Rodrigo Catarino
rodrigo.catarino
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:07 am
Full Name: Rodrigo Catarino

Re: Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:22 pm

Tape to Tape operations are not supported. You may restore the information on disk and write it on another tape.
Is that one time operation or you do it often?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5141
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby rodrigo.catarino » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:56 pm

Hi Shestakov,

This would be a one time operation maybe once a year.

Regards,
Rodrigo
rodrigo.catarino
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:07 am
Full Name: Rodrigo Catarino

Re: Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:58 am

Thank you for the reply, Rodrigo!
As was mentioned, the only way is to restore and write data on another tape.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5141
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:10 pm

Hello Shestakov,

tape duplication is a standard feature in traditional backup products for archiving puposes, sometimes used weekly, monthly or yearly, so consider it being widely used.

I know it's not supported in VBR, but it's an Enterprise feature and I am sure VBR wants to be considered an Enterprise products, as mentioned in Gartner's quadrant.

Consider it being a feature request.

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 241
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Duplicate tape

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:17 am

Hello Didi7,
The request is taken into account. Thank you!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5141
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dburton and 1 guest