Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Everything about backing up to tape

Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby DDIT » Fri Sep 30, 2016 7:30 am

Hi,

As part of an ongoing support case regarding odd results when copying to tape, my Superloader 3 was deemed to be faulty and was replaced by Quantum. My old Superloader was renamed in Veeam to 'Autoloader' and Veeam never complained. Everything continued to work.

With the replacement Superloader attached it was correctly detected by Veeam and labelled as "QUANTUM UHDL 0092". I renamed this new one to 'Autoloader' to match the previous name.

Now, when I check the properties any of my media pools, I get the error "Tape library not found (id:)". This is a problem because I can't move media between media pools as I get the next error "Cannot move selected tapes because target media pool is not linked with the same source library".

I don't think the renaming has caused the problem, more the fact that the library was replaced and I'm guess its unique ID (or whatever!) in the database has changed. I don't want to have to recall all my media from storage to be able to move it between pools. Is there a way to edit the Veeam database directly to replace the old library ID with the new ID?

The original support case ID #01884729

Regards
Michael
DDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Sep 30, 2016 11:56 am

Hello Michael,

It's just a guess, but try to rename the library with the different name and then check if you can link it to the old media pool.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby DDIT » Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:54 pm

Hi,

Thanks. I renamed to something new and unique but the error is the same. When in the properties, I tried to remove and re-add the library via the 'manage' button, but this did not help.

Any other suggestions?
Thanks
DDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Sep 30, 2016 4:22 pm

And if you add the new library to any other media pool - it works (let say a newly created one) without an error?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby DDIT » Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:53 am

Hi,

Thanks. I created a new 'test' pool and added the new autoloader, which was accepted fine. When the pool was created and I checked the properties, I got no error.

Where can I go from here? If I create new pools, I can't move the media because most of it is offline (at the storage facility) and associated with "another" library.

Cheers, Michael.
DDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:07 pm

Thanks for testing. It looks like the old media pool still have a link to the old library for some reason. The next stop is log investigation, so, kindly, keep working with our support team on this one. Please do not forget to update this thread with investigation results.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby rscurrah » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:15 pm

I am getting this error. Was there a resolution to the problem?
rscurrah
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:02 pm
Full Name: Richard Scurrah

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby DDIT » Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:07 am

@rscurrah, what happened to your autoloader for the to get this problem? Was it replaced?

For me, I unfortunately had to recall all my tape media, load each into the library and associate with the new library/pool. It took some time and it was the only solution in the end.
DDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke

Re: Error: Tape library not found (id:)

Veeam Logoby rscurrah » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:29 am

I swapped the original library which had a single drive with one which had 4 drives, I set the media pools to use both libraries, applied the settings then removed the old library from the media pool settings then removed it completely from the list of libraries. All the old tapes were successfully associated with the new library but I just get this silly error when selecting the media pool properties!
rscurrah
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:02 pm
Full Name: Richard Scurrah


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests