Export and import tapes index

Everything about backing up to tape

Export and import tapes index

Veeam Logoby pawell » Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:30 am

Hello. I want to move B&R server. But now it has some tapes imported. Is there any way to move tape idexes to other server? I don't want to wait 2 days to import tapes again.
pawell
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:27 am
Location: Kirov

Re: Export and import tapes index

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:50 am

What product version are you using? Is the backup server also playing the role of tape server? What do you mean by move? Re-install software on a complete different server, migrate VM from one host to the other or something different?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Export and import tapes index

Veeam Logoby pawell » Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:09 pm

I use B&R8 and I want to reinstall it on other server. Tape server is located on other machine and will not be moved.
pawell
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:27 am
Location: Kirov

Re: Export and import tapes index

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:16 pm 1 person likes this post

Most likely you would want to keep your current Veeam B&R configuration anyway, so information about tapes will be available on the new server after configuration import.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14734
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Export and import tapes index

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:01 pm

Don't forget to stop tape activity, once the configuration backup is taken. That should help to avoid inconsistencies after configuration restore. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sdvorak and 9 guests