Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Discussions specific to tape backups

Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby sowardsj » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:37 pm

In regards to Case # 02381424:
Feature request:

We are a new Veeam Backup and Replication customer. We do both disk and tape backups in our shop. We are moving away from the Veritas Backup Exec product to Veeam Backup and Replication.
You can setup and schedule automatic tape inventory and erase jobs to run as needed with Backup Exec but you can't with Veeam Backup and Replication.

Can these options be added to Veeam Backup and Replication in the next release?
sowardsj
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:19 pm
Full Name: J Sowards

Re: Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:08 pm

Hello sowardsj,

Thanks for sharing your request, we will discuss it with the tape team. Cheers!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7944
Liked: 570 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby O1982 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:44 pm

I would also like to see a GUI option for this.

I am not sure how this would be accomplished (how does the tape drive notify the OS that a tape is ejected?) but if other backup solutions can do it then so should Veeam.

We should not have to do a powershell script for this.
O1982
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Owen Thompson

Re: Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:54 pm

Hi, Owen,

Can you shed some light on the use case? Why you want to inventory tape device and erase tapes outside of backup window?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14812
Liked: 1113 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby O1982 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:53 am

Hi v.Eremin,

I am still getting to grips with how Veeam works so maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree here. But this is what I would like to achieve:

Daily Incrementals to Local Disk repository for my Physicals, VMs and a CIFS/SMB share.
Virtual/Synthetic Fulls sent to Daily Tapes (MON, TUE, WED etc).

So I can recover everything from yesterday with one tape (for DR purposes). Due to the size of my infrastructure I can only fit a single copy of everything.

I had an occasion where the newly inserted tape was not recognized as being online and backups to tape did not happen. So that's why I am interested in automatic inventory and as I just need a fresh full copy of everything Automatic erase would also help me...I think!

Thanks,

Owen
O1982
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Owen Thompson

Re: Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:17 am

Hello Owen.

O1982 wrote:I had an occasion where the newly inserted tape was not recognized as being online and backups to tape did not happen.

Was that a brand new tape media? In case media was previously written by any third part it's not going to be marked as free automatically.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7944
Liked: 570 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby O1982 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:56 am

Hi Dima,

No it was a tape that had previously been used by Veeam and was already assigned to a Media Pool. I will double check and test this problem today.

Thanks

Owen
O1982
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:56 pm
Full Name: Owen Thompson

Re: Feature Request - Automatic Tape Inventory and Erase

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:36 pm

Hello Owen,

Thanks, let us know how it goes! In general, you should load new tapes and perform library rescan. Once tapes are in Free media pool other custom media pools can start using these tapes automatically. If media remains in unrecognized media pool you must perform inventory.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7944
Liked: 570 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests