Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
einhirn
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 02, 2015 1:51 pm
Contact:

Feature request: Disable tapes

Post by einhirn » Jun 08, 2017 1:52 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

in my latest support case 02166061 I had some problems that were caused by bad tapes that weren't automatically retired. Of course I could manually retire them via the workaround described in tape-f29/retiring-tapes-t21667.html , but I'd like to have some kind of button like "Export" to mark a tape as "unusable" - I can only export only so many tapes at a time (limited amount of export slots) until I visit the off-site library the next time.

I know that "protect" already kind of does something like that, but "protected" is a different state than "broken" or "unusable"...

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10445
Liked: 849 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Disable tapes

Post by Dima P. » Jun 09, 2017 4:46 pm

Hi einhirn,

Can you elaborate why your media was not detected as retired? Regarding your request – you would like to have an option to manually move tape media to retired system media pool, is that correct?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1409 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Disable tapes

Post by veremin » Jun 09, 2017 6:51 pm

I know that "protect" already kind of does something like that, but "protected" is a different state than "broken" or unusable"...
I think it should be possible to move a tape to Retired media pool, using PowerShell or Move-VBRTapeMedium cmdlet to be more specific. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests