Feature request: Disable tapes

Everything about backing up to tape

Feature request: Disable tapes

Veeam Logoby einhirn » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:52 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

in my latest support case 02166061 I had some problems that were caused by bad tapes that weren't automatically retired. Of course I could manually retire them via the workaround described in tape-f29/retiring-tapes-t21667.html , but I'd like to have some kind of button like "Export" to mark a tape as "unusable" - I can only export only so many tapes at a time (limited amount of export slots) until I visit the off-site library the next time.

I know that "protect" already kind of does something like that, but "protected" is a different state than "broken" or "unusable"...
einhirn
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: Feature request: Disable tapes

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:46 pm

Hi einhirn,

Can you elaborate why your media was not detected as retired? Regarding your request – you would like to have an option to manually move tape media to retired system media pool, is that correct?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6680
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature request: Disable tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 09, 2017 6:51 pm

I know that "protect" already kind of does something like that, but "protected" is a different state than "broken" or unusable"...

I think it should be possible to move a tape to Retired media pool, using PowerShell or Move-VBRTapeMedium cmdlet to be more specific. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13708
Liked: 1024 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest