Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
JasonHop
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 15, 2017 10:22 pm
Full Name: Jason Hopson
Contact:

Feature Request: Display tape name during restore.

Post by JasonHop » Aug 24, 2017 7:20 am

Veeam Support Case: 02277697

Hello all,

I am opening this feature request on behalf of the client. The scenario is in his environment he has 2 Veeam servers one using Veeam 8 and the other Veeam 9 both have access to single tape drives.

The Veeam 8 displays a tape name when restoring, while in Veeam 9 & 9.5 it asks for the media set and sequence number while restoring from tape instead.

After testing and research I can confirm this is by design due to the fact he doesn't use barcodes on his tape media. Couldn't find no real workaround other than simply browse the offline tapes.

The client would like a different workaround instead of looking for his tapes manually.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8760
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Display tape name during restore.

Post by Dima P. » Aug 29, 2017 1:47 pm

Hello Jason,

Thanks for your post. It looks like a bug and we plan to fix this behavior in upcoming update (bring back the tape name).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests