Feature request - I/O Station aware

Discussions specific to tape backups

Feature request - I/O Station aware

Veeam Logoby Task514 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:01 pm

We have a Dell TL4000 tape library configured with (3) I/O stations. We use these I/O stations because it reduces the amount of time required to inventory the tapes that are inserted in these slots.
In normal situation, when we eject a magazine, it would inventory every slot of the corresponding magazine and that's time consuming.

These I/O stations are not recognized by Veeam, so we have to manually open up the tape library's web interface to move the tape from the I/O station to a free slot.

Can we have a future release of Veeam to be aware of these I/O stations and/or be able to control moving the tapes please!


Thanks
Task514
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:46 pm
Full Name: Alex Tran

Re: Feature request - I/O Station aware

Veeam Logoby Task514 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:12 pm

Finally found out about tape Import/Export
But it should at least be aware what's in the I/O stations.
Task514
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:46 pm
Full Name: Alex Tran

Re: Feature request - I/O Station aware

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Nov 10, 2017 6:10 pm

Hello Alex,

Thanks for your feedback! Currently, to recognize the media in I/O slots you have to perform an inventory on your tape device.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7609
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature request - I/O Station aware

Veeam Logoby Task514 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:44 pm

Yes, inventory has been done...
What I'm saying is that in the "Tape Infrastructure" there is no listing of the I/O slots...
The tapes in I/O slots appears as "Offline" which is misleading.

I don't know which tape is in the I/O slots until I import the tapes... there is no indication if it is even populated until I import/export the tapes.

I suggest tapes in I/O slots should remain under "Online" and location set as its respective I/O slot.


Thanks!
Task514
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:46 pm
Full Name: Alex Tran

Re: Feature request - I/O Station aware

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:38 pm

Task514 wrote:But it should at least be aware what's in the I/O stations.

Does each I/O station have a bar code reader?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 22055
Liked: 2564 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests