Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
ITCC
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2017 11:23 am
Full Name: ITCC
Contact:

Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processing

Post by ITCC » Mar 07, 2017 1:00 pm

-- Feature Request -- Case # 0208972

Parallel Processing Backup to Tape with Multiple Libararies (Two Physical Tape Libararies )

at the moment is only possibile "Parallel Processing Backup to Tape with one Library (Multiple Tape Drives)

Br
Sven Bahr

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15965
Liked: 1284 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processi

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 07, 2017 2:09 pm

Parallel Processing Backup to Tape with Multiple Libararies
It's already possible if you have more than one backup to tape job. Thanks.

ITCC
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2017 11:23 am
Full Name: ITCC
Contact:

Re: Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processi

Post by ITCC » Mar 07, 2017 2:46 pm

we have one job to tape and one Media Pool. We haveTwo Physical Tape Libararies we need to backup simultaneously!

Br.

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15965
Liked: 1284 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processi

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 07, 2017 3:05 pm

You might want to create additional job to leverage two libraries simultaneously.

Currently, it is not possible to utilize several libraries within one tape job, and up to the moment we have not received enough requests to justify this enhancement in version 10.

Thanks.

ITCC
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2017 11:23 am
Full Name: ITCC
Contact:

Re: Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processi

Post by ITCC » Mar 07, 2017 3:41 pm

v.Eremin wrote:You might want to create additional job to leverage two libraries simultaneously.
if i create a "Tape Job- Backup to Tape" twice with the same settins and VM's will solve the problem?

Thanks, Sven

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9602
Liked: 754 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processi

Post by Dima P. » Mar 08, 2017 8:38 am

Yes, that should work. Failover for event ‘all drives are busy’ performs a drive check at the beginning of the tape job. If all drives from the first library are locked , job will be forced to use second device.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3300
Liked: 577 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert Director of Product Management Global Alliances
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processi

Post by Andreas Neufert » Mar 09, 2017 8:17 am

Support Case: 02089723 (Feature Request)

Markush-VE
Veeam Software
Posts: 459
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jan 07, 2013 9:26 am
Full Name: Markus Hergt
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature Request -- Multiple Libararies Parallel Processi

Post by Markush-VE » Mar 10, 2017 1:22 pm

ITCC wrote:
if i create a "Tape Job- Backup to Tape" twice with the same settins and VM's will solve the problem?

Thanks, Sven
attention:

both Backup2Tape jobs have to splitted from a content point of view, otherwise all Data would be stored twice on the tapes....
so in summary:

create 2 Backup2Tape jobs, and split the vm's between the 2 jobs

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests