Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Discussions specific to tape backups

Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby Kennea » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:31 pm

Good Morning All!

We are running v8 (8.0.0.917) and I ran into a bit of an issue:
Our Monthly backup filled up the available tapes and went into a "Waiting for inventory" state. In an attempt to add more space for the job, I was stuck!
According to Veeam the tape drive was locked as "in use" and would not unlock to allow more tapes to erased and added to the inventory, thus allowing the Backup to Tape job to complete.

It would be great if there was a function to pause or suspend a Backup to Tape job, telling Veeam to release the tape drive for other functions. That way if a job was to run out of resources the admin could
insert new tapes to the library, erase them if need be and then resume the job.

currently the job can ONLY be stopped which means you are forced to lose the work done and start it over after enough space has been made available to accommodate the ENTIRE job run a second time...

In summary:
A pause or suspend feature for Backup to Tape jobs.

Kenneth Allen
Kennea
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:50 pm
Full Name: Kenneth Allen

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:07 pm

Hello Kenneth,

Perfect request, thank you! I’ll bring it to the next feature request meeting.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7834
Liked: 564 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby sylvain » Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:53 pm

Good day,

Was this feature ever discussed internally at Veeam, and my has it been added to the v9 release ?

I agree with Kenneth, it really is painful to have to re run an entire backup just because there are no way to tell Veeam that you actually provided another tape. :cry:

Thank you
Sylvain
sylvain
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby rreed » Fri Jul 22, 2016 8:04 pm

+1 for this for same/similar reasons please.
VMware 6
Veeam B&R v9
Dell DR4100's
EMC DD2200's
EMC DD620's
Dell TL2000 via PE430 (SAS)
rreed
Expert
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:06 pm

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby gparker » Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:16 am

+1 from me too! I'm running Veeam v9.0.0.1491 connected to a single tape drive (not a library) and when a tape becomes full and I eject it and load in a new tape, Veeam won't let me do a drive inventory because "all drives are busy". In my scenario, it's pointless for me to cancel the job just so I can do an inventory and restart the job because the amount of data in the tape job requires more than one tape.
Help!
gparker
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:24 am
Full Name: George Parker

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby CamoPoP » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:36 am

Guys is there a fix to this issue? Currently on latest v9.5 and can still not pause tape backups as mentioned above by gparker. Do any Veeam admins look at these posts?
CamoPoP
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:18 am
Full Name: Nick Thomson

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:27 am

Hello and welcome to the community forums Nick.

Can you please clarify your setup? Thank you in advance.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7834
Liked: 564 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby CamoPoP » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:37 pm

Hi Dima
Server 2012 R2 with Vcenter 6
Veeam 9.5.0.1536 with HP 1x8 G2 Autoloader tape drive.

We run one weekly tape backup job which uses less than 3 LTO-5 tapes each time. Sometimes however we may get a large amount of additional data which requires an additional tape. This job runs over the weekend so when I arrive back to the office on a Monday and see the prompt for an additional tape I want to be able to simply put the job on hold while I place a new tape in the drive, run an inventory and erase function before resuming the job again. At this stage you cannot do this you can only stop the job (effectivley cancelling) and leaving no choice but to run it all over again. Hoping for a fix to this, is there something I'm missing or a way to get around this?

Cheers
CamoPoP
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:18 am
Full Name: Nick Thomson

Re: Feature Request: Pause or Hold a Backup to Tape Job

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:47 am

Thanks for the clarification Nick. If a drive is occupied by backup or restore activity it cannot be used for other tasks. Added your vote to this feature request.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7834
Liked: 564 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests