Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
QTech
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 17, 2015 10:10 am
Full Name: QTech
Contact:

Feature Request: Restart Failed Backup Objects

Post by QTech » Jun 17, 2015 10:26 am

Morning,

Apologies if this is already requested somewhere on the following pages.
Would it be possible to have an option on failed full backups to "restart failed objects" in the same manner as on HP Data Protector tape backup? This will save us an immense amount of time and tape wear. At present I have to restart the full backup job from the beginning, having erased the tapes that were part of the failed full backup job.

Would it also be possible to more adequately handle tape drive contention. We have a single robot with two drives. Sometimes one drive can be in use with Data Protector, very occasionally both tape drives, and some times the robot is moving tapes - This generally either causes a hardware error on the tape robot, or complete failure of the Veeam tape backup job. If it could wait and retry that would be fantastic.

We seem to have to long-erase all our tapes too, otherwise the backup jobs fail.
We seem to have to use fresh tapes too - Tapes with part-backups stored therein (Veeam backups) cause the backup job to fail.

Many thanks.

nunciate
Expert
Posts: 168
Liked: 23 times
Joined: May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restart Failed Backup Objects

Post by nunciate » Jun 17, 2015 1:34 pm

I would also like the ability to restart failed tape jobs. I have some very large tape jobs that fail from time to time. I have to restart them all the time and do them all over. I have had some large tape jobs (10Tb single server) fail after 90% and then had to restart from the beginning. Really annoying...

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9601
Liked: 754 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restart Failed Backup Objects

Post by Dima P. » Jun 17, 2015 6:04 pm

Hi guys,
Thanks for bringing this up: this feature is (or was, until this post) in the long term list. We will take it to the next version's feature discussions :wink:

wgrixti
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2015 1:02 am
Full Name: Wayne Grixti
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restart Failed Backup Objects

Post by wgrixti » Jun 01, 2016 9:45 pm

Any update on this? I am running V9 Update 1 and the option does not seem to be available. Very painful to start the whole backup to tape process again if something causes it to fail during the job.

aleksandr.markovskij
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 24, 2017 8:07 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restart Failed Backup Objects

Post by aleksandr.markovskij » Mar 27, 2017 9:25 am

Hello, i have the same problem, found this thread. Is this already implemented or not?

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15946
Liked: 1280 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Restart Failed Backup Objects

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 27, 2017 11:17 am

Nope, nothing has changed since the last reply, the said functionality is yet to be implemented. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 6 guests