features request

Everything about backing up to tape

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 15, 2014 3:35 pm

Once again thank you for your post! QA confirmed this bug and forwarded it to a developers team for a fix. Most probably the fix would be merged in to VBR v8.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby ericcsinger » Fri May 16, 2014 12:50 am

IMHO, relying on restore points is a less ideal method for keeping retention in check. It just makes things more complex than it need to be. Retention based on age is a much simpler (reliable) retention method. With restore point method I have to make sure I count how many restore points i'm going to use. If i decided to run a few one off backups, now I have to make sure I temporarily increase my restore points. It would be so much easier if it just kept data for "x" period of time, no matter how many backup's a made. On top of that, a great option to go with it, would be the ability to delete a restore point and basically merge the blocks in (mid-stream if need be). I've personally spoken not only with other Veeam users about this, but with your own sales engineers, and most are in agreement. Not to say that i'm speaking for the majority here. CommVault would be an example of how i think retention is done right...

For the enterprise manager, I'm not sure I'm following. I have a standard license and an enterprise license. Are you saying i can import both into enterprise manager and then distribute them and manage each discrete Veeam Server (single pane of glass)?

For the single tape drive, seriously, absolutely a ridiculous design (for enterprises). I have 50TB+ of data to backup, 4 tape drives and 120 slots. I'm supposed to manually load balance all of that? You automatically pick proxy servers for backup/replication based on job load, tape needs the same automation / capability. I get its a v1.0, but for me, I still need CommVault for tape, which stinks.

For the workflows, PowerShell is great, and I'm fine with PowerShell, except not everyone is good at powershell. I get that workflows wouldn't be easy, but it's something that would totally be useful.

Finally, in looking at how Veeam works with tape, it's just ugly IMO. I'm not even talking about your tape v1.0 implementation here, i'm saying in general. Your product is just not tape friendly. Here's the problem, If I have a large VM, that i'm sending to DR (4TB for example). If I need to restore one folder out of that VM, i need to restore the 4TB file from tape to disk just so I can get access to folder "x". It would be awesome if there was a way to have the VM's stored in min-flat files that were spanned based on some sector algorithm or something. Meaning if I have a 4TB vm, break it up into %adjustable GB chunk size% chuncks and Veeam would know what chunks are needed to recover file / folder "x". I don't know, maybe since you're doing image based backups that wouldn't work, but who knows, there's companies that recover data from failed drives so it has to be possible.

Anyway it probably sounds really negative, but I do love your product, I just want to see more enterprise ideas incorporated into the product.
ericcsinger
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 8:52 pm
Full Name: Eric Singer

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri May 16, 2014 9:01 am

For the enterprise manager, I'm not sure I'm following. I have a standard license and an enterprise license. Are you saying i can import both into enterprise manager and then distribute them and manage each discrete Veeam Server (single pane of glass)?

There must be a certain kind of misunderstanding, as it's not possible to add/distribute licenses of different types via EM. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby ericcsinger » Fri May 16, 2014 10:14 pm

v.Eremin wrote:
For the enterprise manager, I'm not sure I'm following. I have a standard license and an enterprise license. Are you saying i can import both into enterprise manager and then distribute them and manage each discrete Veeam Server (single pane of glass)?

There must be a certain kind of misunderstanding, as it's not possible to add/distribute licenses of different types via EM. Thanks.


Well good we're on the same page, what I'm trying to convey is that once again an ideal way of handling things that I would like to see changed in the future. VMware can manage multiple license types, so why not have Veeam do it? That after all is the point of enterprise manager among many things is to be a single pane of glass.
ericcsinger
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 8:52 pm
Full Name: Eric Singer

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon May 19, 2014 10:49 am

ericcsinger wrote:Retention based on age is a much simpler (reliable) retention method. With restore point method I have to make sure I count how many restore points i'm going to use. If i decided to run a few one off backups, now I have to make sure I temporarily increase my restore points. It would be so much easier if it just kept data for "x" period of time, no matter how many backup's a made.

I would argue the reliability aspect. Think of the situation when backups were not successfully completed for several days for some reason. With the number of days retention you could result in less amount (or even none) of successful restore points.

Thanks for the reasoned feedback, anyway.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 19, 2014 2:13 pm

Hello Eric,

For the single tape drive, seriously, absolutely a ridiculous design (for enterprises). I have 50TB+ of data to backup, 4 tape drives and 120 slots. I'm supposed to manually load balance all of that?


I believe you set up you separate backup to disk jobs and have multiple repositories, right? So, the only thing you need to do with current tape functionality (based on you hardware) - set up four separate media pools with the option to pick free tapes when needed from shared free media pool, create and select either the repository (as a new backup file appear option) or backup to disk jobs as a source for newly-created jobs

If it is possible, please, describe why setting your tape functionality in the way I described is not possible / convenient – and we would gladly discuss your experience with the tape team. Thank you!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Previous

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests