File to Tape backup uses LAN

Everything about backing up to tape

File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Tue May 05, 2015 7:03 am

Hello, I installed 2 veeam servers (1 that's "primary" and one specifically for tape jobs).
Tape server has got all the LUN's in read mode attached to it for backups (I'm using Symantec, but trying out veeam). So I created a file to tape backup (we have about 1 tb worth of doc files, 600k+ files). So Symantec does it faster and doesn't use LAN to transfer data from LUN. So I assume veeam takes data from file server via LAN and then writes it to tape.
The question is - is this by design or am I missing something?
I tried creating job from the tape server itself, but veeam doesn't "see" the luns attached.

Thanks in advance.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue May 05, 2015 10:12 am

Hello,
Could you specify how did you connect the tape device? VBR supports such types of direct connections as Fibre Channel (FC), Serial Attached SCSI (SAS), SCSI.
Backup to tape job copies existing restore points to tape. So you need to create backup or backup to tape job first and then set backup to tape job.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Tue May 05, 2015 10:25 am

I'm using file to tape backup, not VM backup. I'm backing up files, not VM's.
Tapr Library is connected via FC. The backup itself works fine, but slow, since its using LAN instead of FC to transfer data.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue May 05, 2015 10:59 am

Sorry, my bad. Second part of my post was about backup-to-tape instead of file to tape.
Regarding file to tape, could you provide your bottleneck statistics (Load: Source > Proxy > Network > Target ) and processing rate?
In general File-to-tape works much slower if dealing with a vast number of small files, like in your case.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Tue May 05, 2015 11:03 am

Yeah, I know that it works slowly, the point is... It doesn't take data from LUN, it copies it over the network from the "source" server to tape server.

Again. I have this LUN attached both to file server and tape server. Tape server has LUN in read only mode. It should be able to take data from LUN directly, not transfer it via LAN from file server.

ps. Primary bottleneck: Source 87%, duration 13:26:49, processed 932,2 GB, processing rate - 20mb\s, we have 1 gb\s network adapters.
pps. when it does incremental it goes through all files again?? So incremental job took 11:36:01 (160mb of data) to complete. WTH?
ppps. what is weird. job log contains 2 time stamps. 0:33:45 and 0:02:07. which doesn't really sum to ~12 hours. WTH??
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue May 05, 2015 2:37 pm

Try to change job settings: on "Files and folders" step choose tape server, then click "Add" and check if there is the mounted LUN storage. Choose files to copy from the LUN and see if the backup speed will be improved.
By the way, what is the full bottleneck statistics: Proxy, Network, Target?
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Wed May 06, 2015 7:23 am

I suppose you were asking for this:
Source 87% > Proxy 0% > Network 0% > Target 0%

Just like i said in my original post "I tried creating job from the tape server itself, but veeam doesn't "see" the luns attached."
It only recognizes disk C and the CD-ROM. The luns are attached in read-only, i triple checked that.

ps. the next incremental took ~12 hours again. 220mb of data. Tell me this is a joke, please.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 07, 2015 4:15 pm

So the lun is not mounted to the tape server as a volume or folder, is that correct?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Wed May 13, 2015 7:09 am

Ehm, is there a way to mount it? I mean, its a part of a file server cluster. It supposed to be active on the cluster?

ps. sorry for the late reply.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu May 14, 2015 4:01 pm

Are you probably talking about retrieving VM guest OS files directly from the LUN where VM resides and copying them to tape?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Thu May 14, 2015 8:55 pm

220MB over 12Hr means something is seriously wrong with the setup... even if it WERE using a single Gig network link you should be seeing around 100MB/sec (that's what I see, on a NAS with 300+k files) and a single Gig link between NAS and tape server.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Fri May 15, 2015 6:57 pm

I appreciate your concern, but nothing is wrong with the backup, something is wrong with Veeam. Since SBE does the same incremental backup in a matter of minutes.

2 foggy, no, I'm just coping doc,rar,jpg,pdf files from a file share.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Fri May 15, 2015 7:07 pm

Do you have multiple (Veeam) proxies enabled? I've seen rare cases where Veeam's automatic proxy selection chooses a *way* wrong proxy (even one across a wan!) and of course this results in crazy bad backup times (and network utilization you're not expecting.) It's easy enough to look in the job to see which proxy it picked. If need be you can force the desired proxy within the backup job. This of course could have nothing to do with your issue, just throwing it out there.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Sun May 24, 2015 10:18 am

Thanks, I will check it out and return with results. Sorry for late reply.
ps. Can we backup volumes deduped with WS 2012-2012 r2?
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: File to Tape backup uses LAN

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun May 24, 2015 11:35 pm

Yes, you can.
There is a topic with best practices and our customers` examples. Please take a look. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests