File to tape - Skipped Files

Everything about backing up to tape

File to tape - Skipped Files

Veeam Logoby nterreault » Thu Oct 03, 2013 4:03 pm

Hello,

Quick question is File to tape stricly for vbk or vib files ?

I'm trying to copy some zip/rar files to tape along with other vbk files and the job is always skipping those files.

Thanks,

Nicholas
nterreault
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:03 pm

Re: File to tape - Skipped Files

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:59 pm

Hi, File To Tape can process any files from any server added to Managed Server (Windows or Linux). Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: File to tape - Skipped Files

Veeam Logoby nterreault » Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm

Ok got it finally. I had zipped file to backup from another server. I created a File To Tape and created a folder on the server from there. copied the file inside that folder. And finally the backup got the file and recognize them.

Thanks...
nterreault
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:03 pm

Re: File to tape - Skipped Files

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:15 am

I’m wondering whether you got any warning or notification regarding files being skipped; anything that might point us to the root cause of the original issue. Also, did you choose these files as a source for file to tape job, or you chose the root folder, instead?

Anyway, glad to hear that you were able to bypass the said issue. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: File to tape - Skipped Files

Veeam Logoby nterreault » Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:44 pm

I got a yellow sticky saying skipped files, but nothing more. In the log it was saying Remote Directory contains 0 items.

I choose the file as a source. Like i said once i moved files inside a created folder (From within Veeam software) i got the file taken to tape.

Not sure if its wanted like that or it a bug, but i came around it.

Thanks,
nterreault
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:03 pm

Re: File to tape - Skipped Files

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:46 am

I encourage you to open a ticket with our support, so that, they can take a closer look at your infrastructure and see what could cause the said behavior.

If anything doesn’t work as expected, it’s typically recommended to work with support team; this way, we will be aware about potential issues and will be able to come up with potential workarounds/fixes as soon as possible.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests