First GFS tape job does only 1 (synth) full backup?

Everything about backing up to tape

First GFS tape job does only 1 (synth) full backup?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:23 am

Just checking, I know when you do the first backup to tape of a FF backup it initially creates TWO full backups to tape, this isn't the case with GFS jobs is it?

Just trying to manage the tapes I'll require when sending two jobs to a GFS tape pool for the first time...
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: First GFS tape job does only 1 (synth) full backup?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:19 am

this isn't the case with GFS jobs

You're right. Only one restore point will be archived to tapes during initial run of GFS backup to tape job. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: First GFS tape job does only 1 (synth) full backup?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:42 am

Great, thanks.
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests