Full backup to Tape - One off

Everything about backing up to tape

Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby mdmd » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:35 am

Hi all,

We want to archive all our File servers on a 4 year retention as a one off backup. (we create one every summer)

The backup job its creating this from is an incremental backup with 60 restore points.

Is there anyway of getting a Full backup these servers with no incremental on the tape disks. I cant see the option and its seems you cant run jobs directly from Production to Tape.

(i see in the full backup options i can select a month, so if i select first Tuesday and only select august (today), would that give me a full of live data as of the last backup, last night?)

Thanks

Mike
mdmd
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:29 am
Full Name: Mike

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:06 pm

Hi Mike,

To calrfiy, you are refering to backup to tape where source file is your file server backup? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6523
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby mdmd » Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:43 pm

Hi Dima,

Sorry i should have said more.

We have 8 file servers(VMs) on VMWare that are backed up with incremental backups in veeam and and retained for 60 days. We would like these server to have a one off backup to tape (no incremental with them) Currently we do this with symantec but our license has expired and would like to retire the legacy BExec server.

Thanks
mdmd
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:29 am
Full Name: Mike

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:28 pm

Mike,

You can create a simple backup to tape job with this backup jobs selected as a source. Select full backup only and run it once. As a result you get a pack of tapes with desired full backups and you can store them for 4 years (you can set retention on the media pool).

- Create a tape server and connect your tape device
- Create a simple media pool and add free some tapes
- Create a backup to tape job (or create a file to tape job and backup the .vbk files)
- Run it once
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6523
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby mdmd » Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:57 am

Hi Dima,

Sorry to bring up the old thread but ive had chance to get round trying what you suggested which is did,

I created a backup job to tape to a simple media pool. I didn't turn on incremental backups and ran the job once.

The File server job probably total 4Tbs in total(without incrementals). However this job has used 7 x 1.5 TB tapes. (10TBs) (and has 2 restore points on it, one Full from 92 days ago, one full from 5 days ago)

Cant see what im doing wrong

Thanks

Mike
mdmd
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:29 am
Full Name: Mike

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:51 pm

What product version are you using? Also, what answer did you choose when prompted with backup chain selection screen? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby mdmd » Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:45 pm

Hi Dima,

Using B & R 9.5.0.1038.

I chose to backup our "file Servers" VMware Backup.

I didnt get a prompt for backup chain like in the article. It just adds the job and in the lower right hand corners says Full : 4.46 TB and Incremental 4.14TB
mdmd
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:29 am
Full Name: Mike

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:22 pm

If there are more than one backup chains produced by source backup job, during backup to tape job creation you should receive the said notification message.

If that does not happen and as the result of misbheaviour two backup chains (instead of one) get archived, kindly, reach our support team.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby mdmd » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:55 pm

Logged a case. Thanks 8)
mdmd
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:29 am
Full Name: Mike

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby Encrypted1024 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:34 pm

The two ways to ensure that you get a full backup to tape is either switch to reverse incremental for your disk backups, or create a backup copy job, then run a tape job from the backup copy job. Running a tape job against your incrementals has the risk of copying the incrementals to tape.
Encrypted1024
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:23 pm
Full Name: Dave Webb

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby skrause » Tue Sep 05, 2017 7:42 pm

If you de-select the "backup incremental restore points" checkbox Veeam will never backup incrementals to tape, if it does you should open a support case because that is definitely not expected behavior.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 308
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Full backup to Tape - One off

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:35 am

By the way, did you enable process latest full backup chain only option?

Image
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests