Help with Tandberg Quikstation tape emulation

Everything about backing up to tape

Help with Tandberg Quikstation tape emulation

Veeam Logoby fdizone » Tue Dec 30, 2014 6:36 pm

I just installed a Tandberg RDX Quikstation, and have 3 hard drives in the unit. I have the unit setup as "Tape Autoloader (One LTO-3 drive and eight slots)". All works well in Veeam except 1 major thing. Veeam does not move the tapes in and out of the drive as needed. Instead, when the "tape" is full, it just waits for a new tape to be inserted manually. I want Veeam to do this autmatically, just like my old Quantum Superloader did with tapes.

In Veeam, I have a Media Pool setup and all 3 tapes are shown. Shows the correct tape in the drive. But that's it. In the server's device manager, It shows the Tape Drive as HP LTO Ultrium 3, and the Medium Changer device as Unknown.

Can anyone help?
fdizone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:52 pm
Full Name: Matthew Shull

Re: Help with Tandberg Quikstation tape emulation

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:19 pm

Hi Matthew,
I wonder if the Eject media once the job finished option was enabled in the backup to tape job properties?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Help with Tandberg Quikstation tape emulation

Veeam Logoby fdizone » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:13 pm

d.popov wrote:Hi Matthew,
I wonder if the Eject media once the job finished option was enabled in the backup to tape job properties?


I did not because I assumed that would physically eject the tape, which I don't want. Does it not work that way?
fdizone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:52 pm
Full Name: Matthew Shull

Re: Help with Tandberg Quikstation tape emulation

Veeam Logoby fdizone » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:35 pm

I set a new job to eject the tape as you suggested, and it did physically eject the tape from the machine. When the next job ran, it did properly move a tape in the media pool do the virtual drive. But obviously I cannot have the tapes physically eject.
fdizone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:52 pm
Full Name: Matthew Shull

Re: Help with Tandberg Quikstation tape emulation

Veeam Logoby fdizone » Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:34 pm

I found the setting I needed to make this work. In the QuikStation control panel, there is an option for "Autoloader Option - Continuously rotate catridges in the slots". This prevents the tapes from being physically ejected when Veeam ejects them. So I was able to set the eject option in the Veeam job and all seems to work well.

Thanks!
fdizone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:52 pm
Full Name: Matthew Shull

Re: Help with Tandberg Quikstation tape emulation

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:02 am

Thank you, Matthew, for coming back and sharing the resolution with community members; much appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13293
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests