Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
baber
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

How use File to Tape from DDdomain to TAPE

Post by baber » Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Hi

My backup repository is datadomain and I was enable CIFS in DDdomain to explore backup files also I have added this CIFS path as network map drive now I want use File to Tape option to backup some files from DDomain to Tape but cannot see map drive that previously created how can copy file from DDomain to TAPE ?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3764
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: How use File to Tape from DDdomain to TAPE

Post by HannesK » Sep 11, 2019 5:49 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,
the file to tape wizard does not recognize network drives (there will be improvements for your situation in the next version).

The current workaround is to map the network drive to a folder: https://superuser.com/questions/244562/ ... o-a-folder

In general: if your files on the datadomain are backup files... then the recommendation is to use "backup-to-tape" jobs. Then you don't need to deal with that.

Best regards,
Hannes

baber
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: How use File to Tape from DDdomain to TAPE

Post by baber » Sep 11, 2019 7:47 am

Thanks

I used this

C:\Users\Administrator>mklink /d "c:\dsa-cifs" "Z:\"
symbolic link created for c:\dsa-cifs <<===>> Z:\

now create dsa-cifs folder in c drive
just one problem there are many subfolders in source but now just show one folder without any subfolder in c drive

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10421
Liked: 843 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How use File to Tape from DDdomain to TAPE

Post by Dima P. » Sep 11, 2019 5:13 pm

baber,

Additionally, you can type in the path to shared folder in File to Fape job > Files and Folders step > Add.. while any managed server is selected as a source. Cheers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests